First post


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
May 4th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before beginning I wanted to say a couple things. First I see no spell check on this site, so that is not good for those who like proper grammar and spelling. The other part of that is on this computer in Germany the keys are not all the same as back home. We can just go ahead and blame the keyboard for any mistakes.

When I arrived in Frankfurt it was morning and I spent all my time on the plane watching quality movies rather than sleeping. You think I would have learned something after my first trip to Europe, but obviously not. I tried staying up until night time to get on a proper sleep schedule, but my eyes were burning around 5pm from the lack of sleep. It was ok I had already seen all the "sights" of Frankfort, so I went to bed. I did wake up a few hours later to two individuals coming into the room. They asked if I spoke German in German, I responded with no. Then they asked about my French, this time I decided to say English before this game went on much longer, after all I was beyond tired and did not care whatever their question was. But after I responded with English one says "Just English"? and then they both laughed together. Haha whatever, I was going back to sleep. The one disappointing thing was that I did not see anyone else near my age or that spoke English. There seemed to be a large group of high school aged Germans and families running around the hostel, but very few others. The one other group I did see was a group of maybe 12-13 year olds and the only reason I know they spoke English is because at breakfast one turned to another and told him to "f**k off" haha oh kids these days.

My time in Dresden was much better although it was gray and raining just like Frankfurt it had plenty more sights. I was going to write these blogs with some sort of humor and wit, but there is nothing funny about missing breakfast and walking around for hours trying to find somewhere to eat and almost passing out from dehydration and lack of food. This happened to me on my attempt to find this street that was full of old style German houses that were serving German food. I am sure it was for tourist, but I was ok with that. I really wanted something to eat. Finally I found this Shawarma/gyro place, here they call it Brümmer or something like that. However I had eaten that the day before but how do you say no to cheap and delicious? Standing right next to it was some sort of German stand offering braughtworst and other German looking/sounding meat. I chose this German stand instead and I had a braughtworst, needless to say it felt like a heartattack going down. I don't see how all these people are skinny, it must be that they bike everywhere, because there are a million bikes. After a day of walking I decided to take a bus out to Mortizburg Castle. It was under renovation, which was suppose to be done at the end of 2009, I can only guess this is a government project, because it is still going on today. It still seems that there are few people my age around. My floor in the hostel looks to be schooling a group of high school girls, and they keep using the mens bathroom. To make it even worse I am not sure but I'm fairly positive there is not exchange rate on women as there is on money. Oh well I will keep moving around and hope to post another post when I get to Prague.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



5th May 2010

what do you mean try??
What do you mean TRY to post with humor and wit? I chuckled thru this entire post thank you very much ;) AND...I can picture you at the gyro place just chowing down like that one time. LOL! I am sooo excited that you actually posted btw...I was hoping to come in and see an email from you but i guess this will do. Post some pictures soon mmmkay???
7th May 2010

I think you almost lost your plane ticket home in the stock market this week.
9th May 2010

Wow
That's nuts man glad ur having fun you better keep this up

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb