Ready to Go


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
February 22nd 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am sick and tired of all the snow.

The last weeks I had to get up every day 30 Min. earlier just to clear the pedastrian path of all the snow and when I come back from the office I had to do the same again.

Because of the snow we could drive very often only 20 km/h. This was - and for the others still is- a real winter. We are not used to it anymore.

I am glade we finally leave.

I have finished all my books about Cambodia and I have read many (travell-) blogs about it but now its time to see it by myself.

First I thought it would be not fair to start a trip to a foreign country and the first book I read about it starts with its darkest age that ended 31 years ago (31 years ago the invasion of the Vietnames Armee put an end to the power of the Khmer Rouge). How would we feel if a foreigner comes for example 1976 the first time to Germany and the first book he reads about Germany only deals with Ausschwitz ?
Would this be fair ? Don't get me wrong of course everyone should read books about Auschwitz but
does this help to understand Germany in the year 1976 ?

So why do I start my reading about Cambodia with the Khmer Rouge and the Killing Fileds ?

Because it finished not 31 years ago but 11 years ago and Pol Pot died in freedom only 11 year ago (unfortunatly not in a prison) and many of the former Members of the Khmer Rouge are still in power or in power again (of course now they don't call themselve any more Khmer Rouge).
History is not over yet.

The soul of many people (many are at my age) got wounded. Many of them carry a trauma, that they hide deep in there heart.

After having brought the flight tickets I have spend the last two month a lot of time reading about Cambodia. There is no other place where I want to go now.

We are ready to go!

The backpacks are packed.

Goodby winter, goodby darkness. I will not miss you.

When you read this, we are already gone.

Cambodia we are coming.



Next stop Siem Reap,Cambodia

Follow me!

Walter



Recommended reading:
"Die Kinder der Killing Fields - Kambodschas Weg vom Terrorland zum Touristenparadies"
von Erich Follath




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb