Dresden - the most beautiful place on earth!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
April 9th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

One of the biggest suprises of this trip has been Dresden. Definately the most beautiful place I have seen on this trip thus far. We went there in transit to our trip to Munich and I really wish we didnt already book a place here in Munich, because I would have liked to have stayed in Dresden a little longer. We arrived quite late last night in Dresden, and stayed at the local backpacker 'Dresden Kangaroo Stop' - the owner had travelled to Australia and loved it so much, she themed her backpackers around it. Stuffed Kangaroos everywhere and they were very friendly. I'm finding that the more south we go, the more friendlier the German people are to foreigners who at least try to speak there language. We decided to head out into the Neuestadt (which is actually their old city) even though rain threatened. I'm so glad we did, because it was as if we had stepped back 500 years into the past and were roaming amongst ancient buildings fit for kings. The Frauenkirche was magnificent and a busker stood next to it, playing his trumpet...he played the song I walked down the aisle to.....and it was very romantic. I made sure to tip him well. The rain set in, so we sat in a small cafe watching passerby, drinking tea (Peter drank the local beer) and shared some more apfelkuchen (dont be suprised if I return home rotund). I cant believe that I left my camera at the hostel though...I wanted to kick myself, but we bought two lovely pencil portraits of the city as souvenirs.

Today we spent the long journey (6 hours) to Munich on the train. Once again, Brian, I took lots of photos for you...I really like first class on the express train! We met some highschool students who were returning from an Easter camp and had a good talk to them about schooling in Germany. They were very animated and I enjoyed seeing that teenagers are not much different from country to country...one of the boys was wearing a t-shirt that read: ' At school, I learnt to sleep with my eyes open'. And now we are here...in Munich...with free internet!!! Yay! Tomorrow is Eater Friday, so Im not sure if things will be open, but if all goes to plan we will probably go to Neuswanstein (havent got a clue how to spell it...maybe after tomorrow i will) or Dachau... I must say German's really celebrate Easter here....it is not so much about chocolate eggs as it is about people decorating their trees with eggs like it is Christmas. Im looking forward to going to a church service here to see what it is like. I am missing everyone at home though - especially the fact that Kirstin, Marcus and Alli are visiting...would have liked to have sat around drinking some tea with you and pig out on chocolate. Love you all lots! Eat and extra chocolate bunny for me xx

P.S. zou might notice some of my Y are actually z....the stupid keyboard here in Germany is different to the one at home, so it makes it difficult.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb