Out of order, or: the curio entry


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 7th 2008
Published: June 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As I am still at the experimenting stage I thought I could insert an entry which has absolutely - well, hardly anything - to do with The Big One, aka my year off. This is it.
My friends know that I do read a lot. And while doing so it happens ever more frequently that lines, half-lines, phrases jump off the page and I say to myself “What a wonderful world”, no, ummhh, I say “this could be a good title for a blog entry”. And I have started to collect these lines for future reference.
But then I thought why wait for occurrences where one of the lines might fit. Could it be possible to make things happen on the basis of let’s say: “… it was smug, it was laid back, and it said: You’re dinner.” , or: “a butterfly with painted wings”, or: “My secret wish list” which is short for: “everyone has a secret wish list: one with which reality occasionally (in may case: very rarely) intersects”.
Take the first one: I could go swimming with crocodiles in Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory, Australia, or capsize with my canoe in the Okavango Delta, Botswana, and if I survived the experience I could publish a blog entry with said title.
For “a butterfly with painted wings”, however, I can already come up with a situation, or rather an image.
Last autumn I travelled in the Yemen. One day I was wandering the back lanes of Shibam in the Hadramaut, you know, the one everyone calls “the Manhattan of the Desert”. It was hot between the clay high rise buildings, it was dry, sand particles were shimmering against the backdrop of terracotta toned clay walls already in the shade. And then came the children. Out of nowhere - it seemed. Running silently. Holding aloft self-made kites out of sticks and colourful plastic bags. Vanishing into dark passage ways. Gone. Butterflies with painted wings. (Oder so ähnlich.)
Daft idea, on the whole, but good enough for another practice run. (Just five more weeks!)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb