How many miles can I cover in 8 months?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! This is the first of hopefully many blogs about my travels this year.

My first trip starts in a little over a week. I'm going to Germany, to a little town called Weztlar, which no one has ever heard of. The trip isn't so much for vacation, but to work and do ministry. A big church in Chicago is facilitating a women's conference there and wanted as many women technicians as they can get. I happen to be one and will be going as an assistant light designer and ops support. So, basically, I have no idea exactly what I'll be doing. It looks like there are 6-8 women on the crew of 33, including IMAG director, FOH, and producer. Should be fun! (The conference is about doing church together- both men and women in leadership and serving next to each other.) From what I understand, the crew is from all around the country, but many are from Chicago and a few are from Germany. There are 4 people (3 men and myself) on the lighting team.

I'm pretty stoked. I'm not thrilled about traveling on my own, but I'll be fine. I'm rooming with a woman from Canada who is the IMAG/video director. That's everything I know about her. They sent us a schedule of our days. Each listing starts with the date and how many hours we'll be in the venue. I'm glad we never admit things like "16 hours in venue."

FAQs-
*Will things be in English or German?
-U.S. speakers will speak in English but will be translated every few sentences. German speakers will speak in German. Videos will be in both and will have subtitles. Worship will also be in both.

For the technicians:
*We'll be using a GrandMA console to run lights.
*That's about all I know now, but I'll keep you posted on the interesting things 😉


Sometime in the next few months or so, I'm hoping to go to Ethiopia. Still praying that we can go and when. In March, I'll be headed to Guatemala to visit my aunt, uncle, and cousins.

Advertisement



26th October 2007

Im am from Giessen, the neighbour town of wetzlar. We dont want you fundamentalist christians here in your country. Stay im your crazy creationsm preaching bush loving country. We dont want fundamentalist christian missionaries here.

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb