Back again!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
January 30th 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

the ducks!the ducks!the ducks!

Sarah Jo, Jules and I
So, I arrived back in Germany with only minor delays. I had trouble getting out of Omaha, but at least got to go back home and hang out until my rescheduled flight. As usual, it was a long day traveling, and I was exhausted when I got in. I was on the flight with another girl from Iowa, and our supervisor Ryan ended up picking us up at the airport and we were the last interns in. There are 17 interns plus our supervisor, so definitely a bunch of us!! I am living in the barracks, and sharing a bathroom with Ryan. We have one kitchen per floor, so that kinda stinks. Our housing is about 20 min. from the main post, so we have to take the military bus into work everyday. Not much is on our little housing post, just an elementary school and housing. There is a small commissary nearby which we get to use, and a German environmental college campus equipped with a pub in walking distance. Also a train station so it's not too bad.
We went through training the first few days, and got aquainted with the centers. I am placed in the Wetzel CDC
internsinternsinterns

the Wetzel group waiting for the bus
in a preschool room. There are three CDC's on this base (Baumholder) and 7 of us at Wetzel. I really like my placement, the kids are pretty great and it is similar to the Sure Start program, just a lot longer!! We get to work at about 7:30, start work at 8:30, and get off at 5:30. With the bus rides included we are gone from about 6:45am-6:10pm. Makes for very very long days.
I met a few friends within the program, Sarah from Iowa (on the Chicago flight with me) and Jules from Cali. It's nice to have found people to hang out with as I was a little worried about that coming over. We've visited the pub, and it's a nice place to unwind on the weekend, and we've even met some other cool people to hopefully hang out with. Both Germans and some soldiers. So the ducks (Jules, Sarah, and I, like having your ducks in a row) went to a small village Idar-Oberstein that is only about a 20 min. train ride away on Sunday. Many things were closed, but it was still nice to get out and see some Germany! There is a church that
D-RyD-RyD-Ry

Supervisor (roommate) Ryan and our hallway
is built into the side of the hills which was really neat, and also two castles to checked out. We had some good German pizza and just hung out. It was their first time on the trains so I had to help out, and we got money stuck in the machines. Good times.
I also found a kebap place within walking distance! Which was oh so exciting, and a german Spar Market to get groceries. It is very beautiful here, lots of hills and such. We are planning some trips coming up, including Trier (the oldest city in Germany) this weekend, and hopefully back to visit H-berg next weekend!! We also have our ONE long weekend coming up, so a trip will be planned for that. I think we will be working a lot, but I like where I work, and hopefully we will be able to fit in lots of fun at night and on the weekends. I'm happy to be back, and so glad I took this opportunity! You'll hopefully be kept updated as we have limited internet availability, but I'll do what I can! Tschuess!! (yep, I brought that with me!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The roomThe room
The room

and a sweet army blanket. it's itchy
the great Kebap!the great Kebap!
the great Kebap!

found one! and in walking distance! check it AO! but these are in pitas, not the cool rolly things. oh well, still wonderful!
churchchurch
church

in the side of the hill in Idar-Oberstein
walking in Idarwalking in Idar
walking in Idar

on the sidewalk, such a cute village!
Idar-Oberstein from the castlesIdar-Oberstein from the castles
Idar-Oberstein from the castles

on the sidewalk, such a cute village!
hanging outhanging out
hanging out

the ducks in the barracks


2nd February 2007

Wow
Sounds like you are having great fun - see you this summer!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb