You'll Spoil Your Dinner...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Thuringia
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Family at the PollsFamily at the PollsFamily at the Polls

Check out the size of the ballots!!
We ate this ice cream today.

And that's all we did today.




Just kidding! = )

Here's a short note I wrote my mom about today:

"Hey Mom!

I like German church. We did a lot of singing, which I love of course. It's not the WUMC, though, and I thought about you all this morning. The service was (of course) in German. Ellie and I read the scripture (Acts 2:42-end). It made me miss Mr. Wilson's class quite a bit. We had communion this morning, and it's different too. We get in groups of 5-10 people and share the bread and a cup. And we did it in the middle of the service.

After church they have coffee and cake, and this sweet little girl kept peeking at us. She kept staring at me and Ellie so we tried to talk to her, but she was about 6 so she kept running away. Then later we were in the hall with her and Louisa, and we found out she speaks a lot of English! It's really cool that these kids know so much English already, and I'm really looking forward to
Ice Cream for Dinner?Ice Cream for Dinner?Ice Cream for Dinner?

4 people: over 1 gallon of ice cream + lots of fruit + sparklers!
our "English Worshops" on Wednesdays. We're planning exercises for them with a theme. This week, the theme is family. We're going to ask people how their family is, what they're doing, and find out information about their family (How is your brother? Is your sister still teaching? How many aunts do you have?)"

Today was also election day. I got to visit the polls with the family. There was a long line, but we got to see the HUGE ballots hanging on the wall. It was getting close to 2:30, so Ellie and I headed home early, though.

After that we went with Anja and Sebastian to a nearby town and saw a castle (pictures soon, just need them from Ellie) and had the best ice cream in Thuringia! There was sooooooooo much of it though! When we got back, we went to a concert at the Lutheran church with musicians from Ghana. Pictures attached.


I believe that's all for today!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th June 2009

Icecream
Go ahead eat your icecream. I would!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb