A New Continent...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein » Lübeck
August 8th 2013
Published: September 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Munich to Berlin, taking in Lichtenstein and Denmark along the way June 28 - early August 2013

Munich-Ottobeuren-Obergünzburg-Triesenburg, Malbun, Vaduz in Lichtenstein-Aalen-Rothenburg, Martinsheim, Marktbreit-Göttingen/Gosler-Lüneburg-Leck-Norddorf on Amrum-Ribe in Denmark-Schleswig-Lübeck-Hamburg-Schwerin-Berlin

My overland travel vision through Mexico, Central America and all the way to the southern tip of South America somehow got diverted part way through when I got an email from my folks informing me that my cousin was getting married and I was invited to the wedding. I wouldn’t have missed the celebration for the world; the only thing, however, it was on a completely different continent and mere weeks away. It was thousands of miles away but how could I turn down the offer of, in addition to the wedding, traveling with my folks for five weeks throughout Germany and the surrounds?



I would have to rethink this entire Central/South America adventure. Little did I know it would be postponed for years.



After returning from Guatemala, I finishing a month-long commitment house/kitty-sitting for my friend on Caye Caulker, Belize, before hopping on a flight bound for Germany. I stopped first in New Jersey and NYC to visit with relatives and friends before flying over the Big Pond to meet my folks in Europe. Thank you to all that housed and took care of me those few nights in and around The Big Apple.



So, not to bore anyone with details of a family trip (as exciting and eye-opening as it was), I will make this primarily a photo blog post (or two), representing a small sample of what we did/saw/ate. Since there will be little text, I urge you to please click on each photo below to produce a larger image. You can then easily scroll through them, forwards or backwards.



For more (and much better) detail and a different perspective, I urge y'all to check out my father's blog on this as well as many other trips. He's a professional photographer and prolific writer with much wit. No one has yet to utter a negative peep about his stories and I guarantee much enjoyment while reading his posts.



https://bobandeva.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/fun-times-in-munich/



Now, is anyone ready to take a trip through Germany?


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Altes Rathaus, Old Town HallAltes Rathaus, Old Town Hall
Altes Rathaus, Old Town Hall

On the Marienplatz in Munich
Triesenberg, LichtensteinTriesenberg, Lichtenstein
Triesenberg, Lichtenstein

Houses - and our hotel - hugging the mountainside
A Breathtaking Spot for a Picnic LunchA Breathtaking Spot for a Picnic Lunch
A Breathtaking Spot for a Picnic Lunch

A million dollar view from Liechtenstein over to Switzerland on the other side of the river
The Medieval Town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, GermanyThe Medieval Town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany
The Medieval Town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Fabulously unique, each and every building
Entering Enheim - Solar Town to the MaxEntering Enheim - Solar Town to the Max
Entering Enheim - Solar Town to the Max

Seemingly the most prominent use of solar panels in all of Germany
Beachfront Strandkörbe on AmrumBeachfront Strandkörbe on Amrum
Beachfront Strandkörbe on Amrum

Maybe it's a bit too chilly to swim
Freezing FolksFreezing Folks
Freezing Folks

Folks sitting in a Strandkörbe but ready to head somewhere warmer, perhaps indoors?
Mucky Mud Walkers Mucky Mud Walkers
Mucky Mud Walkers

This is actually a fun form of entertainment - and therapeutic as well


20th September 2018
Triesenberg, Lichtenstein

My kind of town
Yes, my favorite kind of town.....houses clustered beneath mountains and green, lots of green.............Dolores
21st September 2018
Triesenberg, Lichtenstein

Color
Love the green, definitely!
20th September 2018
Triesenberg, Lichtenstein

My kind of town
Yes, my favorite kind of town.....houses clustered beneath mountains and green, lots of green.............Dolores
20th September 2018
A Breathtaking Spot for a Picnic Lunch

Sweethearts
This is the most lovely of shots........nice Suzi...................d
21st September 2018
A Breathtaking Spot for a Picnic Lunch

Nice shot
Thanks! It was a perfectly relaxed picnic with a fabulous view. We all enjoyed it immensely.
20th September 2018
The Medieval Town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Doesn't change
Was here many moons ago....they know how to maintain buildings and everything around them............Dolores
21st September 2018
The Medieval Town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

German perfectness
The Germans know how to do everything perfect! Gotta love the country - and them! Shout out to my mother.... :-)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb