I've moved in!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been a really busy last couple of days. I haven't been able to write because I couldn't get internet in my room until today. Monday was my first day of school, but we didn't actually have class that day. The first day is for taking a placement test so they know which level to put you at and I had an interview with a teacher in German. The test was pretty difficult, since it's designed to test everyone no matter which level they're at, most of the words I didn't know. The interview was a little stressful to, because I had to explain to the teacher why I wanted to study German and all of that kind of stuff which is pretty difficult when you don't know the language well enough.
After that I met my roommate (who is from Japan) and moved into my apartment. The room is very nice but there aren't very many places to put things. It's so cold here, yesterday it was 50 degrees F, so I need all the warm clothes I can get but it takes up so much space! I found out there isn't really any place to put my artwork either, so I had a good amount of things to send back with my parents. Even though my roommate is very nice, I'm thinking that I might get a single room for the next month so I can have more space. That was a pretty busy day, it was only about 11:00 by that time. After I put away some of my things, we wen't to the residency office so I could get an official document saying I lived in Dresden, which I needed for a bank account and things like that. That didn't take too long, but we did go to the bank right after so it was a reaaaally tiring day.

Today was my first day of school. My roommate got up at 6 so I woke up too early, (class starts at 8:30 and its only 15 min away) but I could walk around and get coffee at the store and I had time to look around the school since I had only seen the administration area before. My teacher was nice, the class was pretty hard though. When I took german at Apex, even though in German 4 we had to talk English the whole time
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

the bag of stuff they gave me at the residency office
my teacher still gave translations for vocabulary and explained grammar in English. Here, it's more difficult. To explain what a word means, she would basically tell us a bunch of synonyms until we understood what the word means. There were only 5 other people from my class, and they're all from different places: Italy, Kazakhstan, Brazil, China, and Australia. I think it will be a little odd getting used to having just German class all day, instead of high school when you switch every hour and a half. We get two breaks though, the first is for half an hour and the second is for 15 min. I already have homework! Once I got back from class, I went to get my internet set up. It's pretty odd, instead of wifi you have to get this box that comes with a ton of cords that plugs in a million places. Once you have it set up, it still doesn't show up that there is internet service, but when you open a webpage you sign in. Then I had to go to the grocery store to buy food, and yes, a coffee maker. I had to hurry with everything because I have a meeting for new people to go to at 5 where they explain basic stuff that you need to know. But at least right now I can relax for a little bit.

Advertisement



31st August 2010

=)
I'm proud of you, kiddo!

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb