More Rain in Chemnitz


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Chemnitz
June 4th 2013
Published: June 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ralf's daily coffee and cake routineRalf's daily coffee and cake routineRalf's daily coffee and cake routine

I still can't understand how this man stays so thin. This is a daily ritual for him. The only difference today was that he only had one piece and he even shared it with me!
The rain and grey skies continue here in Chemnitz and throughout much of Germany as I understand. The flood waters are residing here but other areas are being hard hit. Some villages are completely underwater so we are thankful the worst of it seems to have passed for now in Chemnitz. As a result of all the rain and flooding we've had to make changes to our itinerary to see Buchenwald and the Mosel wine region of Western Germany. Maybe we will get a chance for a little travel this weekend but right now there is much to be done here and many other areas have had so much rain that planning an itinerary to avoid those areas may be difficult. So the blog won't be so interesting this time but at least will post updates here so you can see I am still doing fine.

Three shifts of emergency responder crews (fire firefighters) from as far as Berlin worked from yesterday afternoon until 6:00am this morning to clear the water from the basement of Ralf's buildings. They hooked up huge hoses through lower level windows in the building and then pumped the water out into the streets where it slowly drained into the sewer systems. It was an impressive operation. They worked very hard to clear the water. We were able to get away several times throughout the day, including a nice dinner at a cozy spot where I was able to order completely in German with no assistance from Ralf. "Ich moechete bierresuppe und braumeisterschnitzel bitte" (I'd like the beer soup and brew master's schnitzel - a tasty schnitzel stuffed with ham and swiss cheese served with potato croquettes and stewed mushrooms!) Ralf patiently tolerates my insistence on photographing our food at every meal as I told him how much you enjoy seeing the pictures Mom!

That's about all for now. Ralf is back on the job site after a quick break to come home for a shared breakfast and I will spend the day reading and on this first day of no rain since we arrived, I think I will try to navigate the very wet streets for a walk. Thank goodness for my Kindle where I can easily download books in English since I have already depleted my reading supply!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

June 3, 2013 013June 3, 2013 013
June 3, 2013 013

Another German tradition...Rouladen with Red Cabbage and Dumplings


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb