Back to the Bungalow


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Chemnitz
May 30th 2013
Published: May 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Walk in the woods near the bungalowWalk in the woods near the bungalowWalk in the woods near the bungalow

Reminds me of Northern Minnesota
Blessed to be back in Germany! The main reason for this visit is to celebrate the 80th birthday of Ralf's dad, Johannes. We arrived Tuesday morning and by the time we got settled at the Bungalow, we were just in time to enjoy the Tuesday sauna tradition with Ralf's friends. Such a nice group of people and the more I get to know them, the more we are able to communicate, even without a common language. For some reason, the adjustment to the time change has been more difficult this trip but after a few sleepy days and long naps, today (Friday) I finally feel human again. Also contributing to the drowsiness has been the very cold, grey weather. This morning it was only 45 degrees in Chemnitz...brrrr...I know Minnesota family and friends, you are feeling no pity, I understand!

Yesterday I had a new experience. I forgot to get my nails done before I left Florida. Ralf was able to find an appointment for me about 1/2 mile from the bungalow. Unlike the US where there is a nail shop on every corner, the service is not as common here and very difficult to secure an appointment on short notice. He had business commitments yesterday so he took me to the salon and translated what I wanted and then left me to fend for myself and then walk home afterwards. Like most Germans I have met during my travels, they were very gracious and patient with the language challenges. I was proud that I was able to speak enough German to get what I needed, show appreciation for a job well done, and make payment. It's true that that language is easier when immersed than when trying to learn from CD's. After his meetings, Ralf and I took a nice walk in the woods around the bungalow. The surroundings are very similar to northern Minnesota; absolutely beautiful! Ralf convinced me to climb an observation tower in the woods and 160 steps on the open steel tower, with my heart about beating out of my chest and the "Just don't look down" mantra playing over and over in my head, we were treated to a spectacular view of the surrounding area. I have pictures that need to be uploaded from my phone so will do that tomorrow. After an equally nerve wracking climb down the stairs, we ventured on to a little clearing just a ways up the road where friends of Ralf just opened the cutest little Austrian chalet style restaurant. We enjoyed a beer and bratwurst there and then made the trek home. Along the way there are fenced areas where you can view all sorts of wildlife like wild boars, deer and goats. when we had just about arrived back to the bungalow, we came across a most fragrant lilac bush, something I have missed from my usual Minnesota springs and I was inspired to share memories of time with my Grandma Nina from the little pink house that had a back yard surrounded by lilac bushes. The fragrance always brings such sweet memories of those precious times from my childhood with one of the people I miss the most.

Last night we enjoyed a quiet dinner at a quaint little restaurant within walking distance of the bungalow. It was a rustic styled "village like" setting and the owner was a collector of original battle uniforms for German and French soldiers. Amazingly, he had them on manequins throughout the restaurant so we enjoyed our dinner of goulasch and schnitzel under the watchful eye of Napoleon. The owner visited with us about his involvement in battle re-enactments and even shared two of his personal albums of these events. The kindness of the people here and the personal experiences at little places like this one are beyond what I would have ever imagined in my travel adventures.

After 12 hours of sleep, we set off for Berlin where we will meet friends for dinner at a highly recommended French restaurant here. So since I have been here, in addition to some of the German specialties, I've enjoyed a delicious dinner at an authentic Greek restaurant and now tonight French. We are staying at my favorite hotel again here in Berlin, otherwise known as "The Pink Hotel" to me, but more commonly known as the Hotel Gendarm Nouveau. And don't be disappointed, I took more pictures of our room so everyone can see the striking fushia and sparkle décor once more. I think when we build our house, I am going to decorate one of the bedrooms in the same style to remind me of this place. This time our room overlooks the street so we opened the window when we came into the room and were greeted by beautiful choral music coming from an outdoor concert being held at a huge park a block away. The same park where U experienced my first Berlin Christmas market 5 months ago. If I am able to upload the pictures without the assistance of one napping Ralf, I will add them momentarily, otherwise I will have my technical advisor assist me in the morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Weiner SchnitzelWeiner Schnitzel
Weiner Schnitzel

Marketenberin Restaurant - such a cool place!
Autobahn High speedsAutobahn High speeds
Autobahn High speeds

This one is for you Dad!


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb