Been keeping busy


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
January 16th 2006
Published: January 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What have I been up to since I last wrote? Didn't do much during the week except work on my presentation. The week was pretty uneventful. Fri. was fun though. Fri. afternoon Matt, and I went grocery shopping for stuff to make dinner. At 5 he came over and he made the tortillas while I started making fried ice cream and washed dishes. Trying to make fried ice cream was quite an experience. The ice cream first had to be rolled into balls, which was pretty messy and then stuck in the freezer for an hour. After finishing that and cleaning up a bit. I helped Matt finish the tortillas. We chilled for a bit and crushed the cornflakes for the ice cream. After the ice cream had chilled for an hour I took the balls out to roll em in the cornflakes. Well, I don't have the greatest freezer, so the balls weren't hard, but I figured I'd give it a shot anyway and was able to cover two of the three balls in cornflakes and stuck em back in the freezer. Jaime came around then and we started making dinner. We made Mexican Vegetarian Stew... mmmm.... yummy... Dinner was nice... Matt popped open a bottle of Wine. It was sooo much fun to just chill with Jaime and Matt like we did at the beginning of the Semester. After dinner I went to get the ice cream out of the freezer and fry our desert. Was sooo looking forward to it. Unfortunately my freezer decided it wanted to be wierd and not work, soooooo.... I had melted ice cream and water alllllllll over my fridge. Not cool(literaly).... although now it's an entertaining story. So instead the three of us enjoyed chocolate for desert.... not a bad substitute.

After dinner the three of us had a blast. Matt ended up getting quite drunk. He drank almost two bottles of wine by himself. So, Jaime and I felt the need to dress him up in a skirt. =) Aren't we nice. We also managed to get one of his nails painted, but for some reason he didn't trust us with his hands after that. We had a good time dancing around my apartment and just being ridiculous till after 2 in the morning. Gotta love that. =) We had a blast. We also exchanged some music and just chilled. Great way to spend a Fri. night.

Sat. I didn't do much. Slept in later than I had planned, which was a nice change. I cleaned up a bit from Fri. night, worked on my presentation and then just kicked back a bit. Sun. I worked on my presentation some more, but then had a break and had turkish coffee at Tuba's place. (She's an exchange student from Turkey that lives in my building. She had invited Jaime and me over). I really like Turkish coffee.... it tasted so much better than regular coffee. It was nice to take a break with those two. Glad we finally got around to getting together. We've talked about needing to for a while now, but never made plans. Tuba is really nice and has invited us to visit her if we're ever in Turkey. Hopefully I can take her up on that offer someday.

Sun. evening I met with my presentation group for a run through of the presentation. I was the only one that actually went through it like I was really presenting it. I just had some notes with the things I wanted to talk about and tried to do it that way. I was a little nervous though and there was a lot of new vocabulary that I kept forgetting, so I decided that I wasn't going to be able to do this presentation without writing out what I want to say and then read it when I'm presenting. Just too many new words or words that I don't use very often. Oh well... the Prof. will understand.

Woke up early this morning to go over my presentation again. Turns out I didn't need to do that. There was a group the presented before my group and their presentation ran over time, so we didn't get to present today. Now I have to wait til next Mon. Kinda stinks 'cause I was looking forward to having it out of the way. Oh well, not much I can do about it. Now it's time to cram for my exams. Got my first one on Fri. Yikes!!! Just gotta take em one at a time though. Time is running out and it's running out quickly.

Tonight I went over to Sabine's to hang out. We made some pizza for dinner and talked about living abroad and stuff like that. She was an exchange student in Japan the same year I was in Germany and then spent the last 2 years working in Japan. She just got back from there in Oct. She's got lots of neat stories to tell. It's also cool to talk to someone else who's as into traveling, languages and new cultures as I am... =) It's sometimes hard to find someone who's as enthused about those things as I am. Was fun... after dinner we kick back and watched the first season of "Coupling". It's a tv show from England... it's no longer running. I think it was around for 4 seasons. If you were to relate it to an American show it would be friends, but Coupling is waaaaaaay better. "Coupling" would never run in the States though, it's tooo... hmmm... explicit. But it's absolutely hilarious! If you ever come across it and have the chance to watch it I would highly recommend it. Great show. The two of us were busting up the whole evening. Unfortunately we both have an 8 o' clock class tomorrow, so we had to keep it an early night. She has the second season too... hopefully we'll get to watch it before I leave.

I guess that pretty much covers all I've been up to. I should head off to bed now though. I have pictures to add to this entry, but I'll have to do that tomorrow. Night everyone. Miss you all very much! Traeum was schoenes. guten Nacht

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb