Body bag


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Bacharach
September 13th 2005
Published: September 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hostel on the hillHostel on the hillHostel on the hill

Here's my hotel way up at the top!
Hello all,

As promised, here is my blog. I may have to be quick as there is a host of people waiting for me. I arrived in Frankfurt on Monday, September 12 at 7am. Nice flight, good seat. Someway, somehow I was able to communicate my way to a train ticket and even make my way through transfers without a lick of German. And all this with the equivalent of my own body weight strapped to my back. Good times. I arrived in Bacharach, very cute little town packed with German tourists, and made my way immediately to my youth hostel, which was in a castle on a hill. Yes, you read correctly, on a hill. Please refer above to the amount of weight I was lugging around. Why oh why did I not pick a comfy hostel down at the city level. So after 40 minutes of hiking STRAIGHT UP, i arrived all sweaty and needing a shower and a nap, for them to tell me I cant check in until 1. So I waited around 'reading' German magazines. At 1,00 exactly, I asked if I could check in. And would you believe the Stacken Blackens gave me a dirty look for trying to go in so early. Anyways my nap and shower were great and I headed back down to town. I wondered around and after not hearing my own voice for so I long, I decided to start saying the occasional Guten tag (good day) to passerbys. Except sometimes I would forget and say danke (thank you) or bitte (which i think means please). Needless to say I got some random looks. I walked into a restaurant and asked in German if the host spoke English. She said NINE and walked off. I wonder what that meant. Luckily some German tourists, accompanied by Japanese friends invited me to thier table and we spoke English-Japanese for a few hours, while we enjoyed the most Glorious thing on the planet: Federweiser (called amorously, the Virgin Killer)...Delicious wine that is only available in this region in September. How great. Then after I was feeling better about the day I stumbled back up to my castle, i mean hostel, for dinner. I went to the cafeteria grabbed a seat and started eating. The cafeteria was soon taken by storm by 100 (maybe more) 10 year olds. Some even sat at my table with me. I have never been so overwhelmed!! ANd the noise!!! Pretty soon it was empty again and I was alone again. WOW! Ok so after that beautiful hikes, yadda yadda...tried to reserve a non castle room for the next night via phone. I asked in German if she spoke English and the woman yelled NINE and hung up. I wonder if I am saying what I think I am saying when I am asking if they speak English. Hmm. OK well thats all for now.


Advertisement



24th November 2005

NEIN = no
Can you speak English -> Kannst du Englisch Sprechen? (roughly pronounced cannst doo english spreck-ken) When they're saying nine, it's actually spelt nein which means No. :) A useful phrase - Excuse me, where is the youth hostel? -> Es tut mir leid, wo ist die Jungendherbege? (roughly pronounced "es toot me-er light, voe ist dee yoong-en-her-burger") An online German/English dictionary for you -> http://dict.tu-chemnitz.de/ Might be a good idea to grab a German phrase book to help you through the rest of your trip :)

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb