Goodbye NRW


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
June 29th 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rheine with DomRheine with DomRheine with Dom

The train bridge and Cathedral in Cologne
My last few weeks in Germany I made it a point to sort of say good-bye to my favorite cities. I couldn’t have been prouder to live in the state of Nord Rheine Westfallen. The state was filled with amazing cities and mind blowing sites. Even though Remscheid was not a glamorous city it still became my home and a town I miss.

Köln
The city of Cologne over the year was always the place to go when I wanted a change of scenery. It was not much further away from Düsseldorf but for the first 5 months it also cost me 6 Euros roundtrip since my first pass only let me travel through the northern part of my state. I will still remember the first time I saw the Cologne Cathedral and how over the year it never lost its power over me. It was also the city of Karneval and all the craziness of that German tradition. I had 2 great friends that lived there and were always available for a coffee when I decided to head into the city. It was my good friends from home and family’s favorite town in Germany and a city I will
CologneCologneCologne

The amazing Cathedral "Der Dom"
defiantly visit again.

Düsseldorf
The city of Düsseldorf is filled with great memories. I believe that I went to Düsseldorf at least once a week to have dinner or coffee with my friend Alison. It was the town I often went shopping in or enjoyed an Alt beer by the Rheine while the sun was setting. I went to many of its festivals and enjoyed its great breweries in the Altstadt. I knew the train schedule to Düsseldorf like the back of my hand. It didn’t have any amazing monuments or churches but had a trendy yet traditional feel like no other town in Germany. It was the place I first experienced a Christmas Market and its airport helped me to experience more of Europe than I ever thought possible.

Wuppertal
Wuppertal was one of the first big towns I experienced in NRW after moving to Remscheid. I went to the Bergische Universität Wuppertal for the fall semester and later it became the home of my great friend Martin’s apartment. I learned quickly about the German university system and its annoying bureaucracy. It was the closest large train station and often the place I spent large amount of
Am Langen TischAm Langen TischAm Langen Tisch

The longest day of sunlight is celebrated with a festival in my German cities
time after missing my connection. It was the home of the 3rd most beautiful zoo in Germany and of the world famous Schewebahn. Even though I am sure I cursed its name often after watching my train pull away, it contained some of my greatest memories.

In the last few weeks of my time in Remscheid I was able to attend a few of the festival I helped to plan in Stadtmarketing. We even had an opening of a new main train station. This was my favorite since I had been waiting basically 10 months to see the new Hauptbahnhof and I was so excited to be part of the planning for its grand opening. Remscheid really will always be my German hometown. It was the place I got to know so well because of my internship. I think one of the biggest things that made it feel like home was my host family. I never felt like living in Remscheid was just a place to sleep but truly a place I was able to call home.

My last day in Remscheid with my host family was the Sunday before my 2 week vacation through southern Europe. I
Dusseldorf City HallDusseldorf City HallDusseldorf City Hall

Alison and I in Ddorf
was able to have a nice lunch with my host family and exchange gifts with them before I left. Saying good-bye actually felt as hard as it was before leaving Minnesota. They became my family for a year and my relationship with them will not soon be forgotten. I went to bed early the next morning since I was flying out early to Naples, Italy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

View from Rheine TowerView from Rheine Tower
View from Rheine Tower

This was the famous tower in Dusseldorf
Coffee in WupperalCoffee in Wupperal
Coffee in Wupperal

At our favorite called Mina's Coffee
Hanging in WuppHanging in Wupp
Hanging in Wupp

Sitting near the farmers market in Wuppertal
Wuppertal ZooWuppertal Zoo
Wuppertal Zoo

The famous penguin exhibit at the zoo
Host KidsHost Kids
Host Kids

This was the last night I was babysitting with the kids
Sky View of Remscheid Sky View of Remscheid
Sky View of Remscheid

This was during the grand opening of new main train station
EssKULTourEssKULTour
EssKULTour

A festival in Remsheid where restaurants set up stands to sell their special dishes
My Office BuildingMy Office Building
My Office Building

The city of hall of Remscheid and my favorite building


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb