The North Sea.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
September 28th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The North Sea. The North Sea. The North Sea.

The beach where I swam.
I've had a long day. And I can say this in all honesty. My family and I woke up around 7 this morning and packed our things in preparation for our trip to the North Sea. It was about a three hour drive from Aachen to Domburg, the small town where we stayed. Comparatively it would be like driving from Westhope to Bismark, but with much more to look at on the way...well, for a foreigner at least. I'm pretty sure the emaculately tidy cows are old news to the locals by now. Domburg is about the same siye as Medora and it has about the same feel. There are a lot of seasonal shops as well as historic and cultural things. Directly upon my arrival here I was introduced to the 7 year old daughter of the couple from whom we were are renting our little appartment for one night. These people live in Aachen where their Daughter, Sanna, goes to school. And this school that she attends is an international school which means that all of her lessons are taught in English. She is only in the third grade, but her English is empecable. Sanne even has a little bit of a British accent, which I found to be ADORABLE! She was emmediately enthused about having someone to speak to in English and she without hesitation began showing me her school assignments and books along with her collection of shells she found at the beach. Her blonde hair was cut into a chin length bob and she had little freckles dotting her nose and cheeks. I was flattered. I was amused. I was damn near tears. Since being here I have had only trace amounts of homesickness that never once hindered me or provoked tears, but meeting Sanne hit me very hard. Most peple who know me are aware of just how greadly I adore and appreciate children. I have tought Sunday shool for the past two years and helped with a reading enrichment program for three. I have proudly beared the title of "Auntie" since I was only 8 years old. Kadey, she's about the same age as Sanne. Both little girls are talkative and friendly, oth have eyes that are so bright and eager that a person is nearly blinded. I greatly enjoyed her company despite the fact that she so directly reminded me of Kadey whom I wil not have a chance to see again until this summer. Please dont mistake this as me voicing a preference between any of my nieces and nephews becaus I do love and miss them all equally. However, a child of such an age and personality offering to let you sleep in her little bed and commanding your host sister to sleep on the couch, this is bound to remind a person specifically of that one child of similar age and personality who is also adament on relocating even her own brother to a spot on the floor for your benifit. Sanne had a small peg board mounted to her wall on which hung a few beaded necklaces and a bag of marbles. At the foot of her bed was a basket filled with story and coloring books. Typical things for a small girl to own, but I am none the less reminded of Kadey all the while I sit here and write this journal entry. I have a long time yet before I return to the United States and I am going to enjoy it and make the most I can of the time i have left, however it is indeed difficult to be away from the people I love. It won't get any less difficult, but I also know that it is not likely to get any worse. The year will, without doubt, pass quickly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Obscure building....Obscure building....
Obscure building....

...in some obscure town.


Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb