Vorbi Party


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
September 7th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This whole week has actually been very interesting. Stephi has been doing a lovely job of showing me around and such. I'm actually starting to feel like there's a chance I won't make a complete fool of myself when I start out on my own. Which I still won't be doing for another couple days. Herr Opitz has been sick for the first part of the week and upon returning he was far too busy, so we set an appointment to discuss my schedule on Tuesday.

To be honest nothing of superior interest has happened really. On Friday night I just sat at home by myself and studied German which is an odd thing for me to do since I'm an overtly social 17 year old girl in a country that has a drinking age of 16. I really have no intention of spending a majority of my time drinking, though, and definitely none of it being drunk or even buzzed, but I do go out once in awhile. Last night I went to a VorBi Party. The Abitur is a really big test that the grade 13 students must take every year and they have really big parties associated with them. This one was to celebrate the last little bit of summer they had before they started studying for the Arbitur, which is all that they do for the entire 13th year of school. Of coursee these parties aren't school functions because the one I went to was at a small club called BarMuseo. The building was very old and it had gothic looking stone ceilings, but everything else was super modern looking. Like the tables, the lights, and the bar itself. The mixture of super old and super modern was a very attractive combination in my opinion. I was only able to stay for two hours because all of the kids under 18 have to leave at midnight. Before the party at Barmuseo I was invited to Karo's home. She had a few close friends over for a little belated birthday party. Her birthday was actually on July 9th (same day as me!) but she was gone for her whole summer break and had plans every weekend until this recent one. I went there at 6 and we all sat around the table eating bread and laughing for like 3 hours. After that we played Sing Star. It was quite lovely I must say.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb