School & Judo


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
September 5th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My day's been busy this morning I got up, it was so cold in my room. I cannot say the weather is really warm because it isn't and this week some mornings when I walked to school, I could actually see my breathe. My host father keeps trying to convince me that the weather is good and for the most part warm. But I don't believe him. Tonight night I made him realise that since I've been here there as been about 5 nice days which I can actually say where warm and sunny all day with no rain. But on with school so once again I got there and the first bell had already rang. Lusia, Clara and I usually extend are time are home in the morning the longest possible so often time we get to school and the bell rang. I had english class twice in a row. I cannot say it is really fun what we are doing. The teacher is making us analyize speechs. Comparing US political speeches and British political speechs. I find class long. Some of the work we are asked to do I never did in my life, but I still end up being bored in the end because the teacher gives alot of time to the class. Yes at home I always use the be the last one finish begging for more time but now I always finish first. I cannot say I'm the best in class because it isn't true alot are good and know what is going on since they have done it before. The teacher expects more from me because he believes it's my native language but what he doesn't get is that I'm french and well english I have not mastered yet. I dislike when people ask me to find a word because often times I'll know what it is but in the other language. Here I really don't feel accomplished in a language. So I don't know what I'm doing trying to settle another one. No one can understand how two languages here is complicated to have. After doing that he brought the class in the computer room to have us listen to Martin Luther King#s speech I have a dream. There wasn't enough computers or earphones for everyone so I just read the paper and last year I had actually listened to it in English class and he talks really slow for 17 minutes so readingi it was simpler. And I actually enjoyed it more and appricated the content of the text better.

After class was recess so I went to see some of the girls in grade 11, with Aida and Helena then after recess. I had to meet with my second Rotary Counselor and Javier. We went to the townhall where I was given citizenship as a resident of the town I'm living in, So I had to have my passport with me and I had documents i had to sign with not exactly being aware of what I was agreeing too I know. But the Counselor helped transalate what everything said. After that I recieved my citizenship survival kit with a map of the town and several english penflats of what's to do here and around the area for tourists.

Then My counselor had me and Javier complete some more forms for the Bank this time. So I can finally have a running bank account. And papers to register as a citizent of the Bergishes Land.

It took about two blocks to do all this and the counselor have really nice and told us a bit of history on the town hall which is make out of marble I believe and was build around 25 years ago but now, it as to be repared because the marble was falling off since the nails and hatever is holding the building's exterior (recouvrement) is kaputt (it's a word used alot here and I actually know the meaning of it)

Then myself and Javier went back to school for the 2 last periods and started out in a new class today. German level 8. It's still way to hard but I really liked it more. There is more of a chance for me to learn something there then in the higher levels. The kids where really nice and very excited about having to exchange students in the class. I sat beside to girls that where very good in english and could help me when I didn't understand a word since I had to read a short story. The girls kept telling me to find words for them to help me with since it was giving them a reason not to do their work and the teacher couldn't say anything. It was really good the three of us are all Leftys 😊 how cool is that. The teacher it really nice too. He is really trying to help us and the classes aren't as serious and quiet as the grade 12 classes are. I think this is really good.

In the afternoon I had not much to do. It was raining so I couldn't go for a walk like I had planned, so instead I just layed around in the hamack I have in my room and tried to sleep a little.

At 7:00 my host mother told me she would bring me to a Judo club where I could try it out if I liked it. It brought back so many childhood memories. We got there a little early and a younger group was playing. And I looked it was really good. All they where doing was familliar I just couldn't remember how to do everything at all it seemed so long ago since I stopped. After was the older kids. Tonight there wasn't anygirls. So I was with a bunch of older guys who are really good and two younger boys as well who are good. I didn't have a kimono so the trainer said it was ok for me to do it in my close for tonight. The guys where really nice with me and actually tried hard for me to fallow and understand the lesson. We also played soccer as a warm up. And gosh where they all sooo good. It's not at all canadien soccer. lol. I tried to fight after but it was difficult I couldn't remeber anything at all so I didn't quite know what to do anymore and the coach didn't understand when I was trying to ask him about the techniks used. So I#m not that great anymore I guess but I will be soon... Hopefully....

When I got back I stayed down talking to my host parents a little about what I might be able to do for the september break in two weeks I have the fallowing options. Going for a week to ski in the mountains in Austria somewhere with little kids and my host mom. Going to Belgium with my host father's sister and her family or maybe maybe going to england but that isn't sure yet. And I have no clue what to choose all sound great and I'm pulled in all directions. I always wanted to go to England, Belgium by the sea sounds really lovely and well Austria with all the girls is the right thing to do. So I don't know anymore. Oh and a Girl had offered me to go to Phantasia Land with her so I don't know anymore.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb