Frankfurt Day 2


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
June 16th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Travel Blog Day 2: Frankfurt
It is day 2 here in Frankfurt, and today I am going to be joined by my ‘partner in crime’ for the trip, my friend Josh. He was studying in Salzburg, France and is due in around 4pm local time today (that’s 10am back in the eastern US). I could wait around and do very little today while waiting (I get one English channel, CNN int), but instead, I have decided to hike down to the train station. I think its about 2 miles, but not positive. There is a nice park with a lake in between here and there that I am going to have lunch at, and if there is still time before 4, I may hit a museum. Hopefully I’ll remember to take some nice photos while I’m out and about, but that is yet to be seen.
Josh and I will find something to do after he gets here and I attempt to understand the subway system here… I’m really hoping that I don’t end up in another city after I meet him. There are not many beer gardens in Frankfurt, as the city is known more for its AppleWine than its beer. The hotel bar did not have any of this on tap, so I have not yet sampled it, but I plan to tonight. The weather is gorgeous today, with the sun shining, but the temps staying very mild… couldn’t be more than 70 or so. We will leave tomorrow morning for Cologne, which I am very excited to visit. Well, these were my thoughts for the morning, now I’m off to wander around a city that I know nothing of and do not speak the language… there is something truly amazing about doing that… it’s similar to Columbus discovering America I think, except some of the natives speak the language I know and the infrastructure is already there. Either way, it’s hard not to enjoy the time while here, even if there is that fear that you will get lost and never find your way back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb