Arrived in Germany: Feels like coming home


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Stockum
June 15th 2012
Published: June 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

HomeHomeHome

A view of the back of the house
Yesterday, I left home and a 3 hour car ride, almost 11 hour flight and another 2 1/2 hour car ride I arrived home. =) It feels so good to be back in Germany. The plane ride was uneventful, exactly the way it should be. I was sooo excited when we finally landed in Frankfurt. I knew my papa was waiting for me and I couldn't wait to see him. I was going to have to be patient though, as it took over an hour to get off the plane, walk thorugh the airport (and walk and walk and walk), go through customs and get my bag. When I was finally able to walk through the doors exiting out to where people were waiting to meet passengers I was thouroughly exhausted but also filled with excitement and anticipation. And yep, waiting there for me was my papa. =)

We made the 2 1/2 hour drive from there to the little village of Stockum. Ahhh... everything is soooooo green here. Of course, that's due to all of the rain. It's been a wet summer thus far here in Germany and of course the day I landed was no exception. But, I love the rain =) As we got closer and closer to Stockum I got more anxious to see everyone. My last visit here was 3 1/2 years ago. Simply too long. We turned onto the main street in Stockum and I was already beaming. How beautiful it is here. Stockum is a little village of less than 2,000 people nestled in the hills in Sauerland, surrounded by woods. Then we turned onto the street on which my family lives and I reallz did feel like I was coming home. =)

What a nice welcome wating for me. Mama and papa had fresh cut flowers waiting in my room, along with a postcard and chocolate =) (boy do they know me.. hehe) Then the family came by to say hi and for coffee and cake. There were cousins, aunts, Oma (grandma) and Marina even arrived a short time later from Köln. I couldn't beleive how much my cousins had grown. They are now all taller than me! (Ok, I'll grant that that isn't really a difficult feat) Franzi and Maike have grown into beautiful young ladies. And, they're graduating next week! Johanna especially has sprouted up and I really can't believe she's 15 already! As I sat there, a little foggy from exhaustion, I couldn't help but smile and feel so lucky to be a welcomed addition to this close knitt and, especially at that moment, boisterous family. =) What a perfect homecoming.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb