Day 12,938...not really.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Münster
April 24th 2009
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I wrote this a few days ago and don't have time to update it.

So I have nothing to say. I stayed in Holland for one night. I saw two of the three things Holland is famous for. Windmills and tulips. The third is the grave of the boy who saved Holland from flooding. I also stopped in Arnhem. This is where the bridge too far is. Part of “Operation Market Garden” the British and Polish army was to parachute behind enemy lines and capture a bridge at Arnhem. This was the most northern bridge of several to be captured that day. The British were to gain control of the bridge and wait for reinforcements from the allied forces. Which were to make their way from the south. The allied army could not make it to Arnhem and the British lacking food, water, and ammunition were over taken by the German army after four days of fierce fighting. Today I was in Münster Germany. This is where three Anabaptist were hung in cages after revolting against the Catholics. I am staying in Köln, which in English is Cologne. It has over 250 churches in the city. More than any other city north of the Alps and has been nicknamed “Holy Cologne”. Last night I meet a guy who was from Canada and got to talking, he invited me to go get something to eat with him. He paid for my dinner after learning what I was doing, which was nice. He was here working on his PhD. In what, I’m not sure, but he was in Münster studying posters from the 1600’s. Yeah, but he bought me dinner so I didn’t say anything. Well I’m trying to find things to say, but can’t think of anything. I’ll be staying with a missionary this weekend, but then I will have to do what I have been putting off since I got here. Go to Paris.

If you didn’t notice I got a haircut. The kid who gave it to me was all excited, because he never cut hair before. So he thought it was awesome. It still needs to be touched up but it’s all good.


That’s all folks!






Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Tulips Tulips
Tulips

Taken from the train.
HollandHolland
Holland

Bike anyone?
DunkirkDunkirk
Dunkirk

my tiny little room.
DunkirkDunkirk
Dunkirk

planing my day out in the lobby of the motel. I love Google and WiFi. Thank you Mr. WiFi!
Dunkirk Dunkirk
Dunkirk

Never so much owed, to so few.


27th April 2009

I loved the pictures of Holland. What was the Baptist building?
27th April 2009

Did you go to Wittenburg?
27th April 2009

Too bad Mom's not with you to clean your room ;) Thanks for all the effort taken to post. It's always good to "hear" from you. Did you make that cross?
28th April 2009

Good post
I understood everything in this post and there weren't any inside jokes. Nice. This has to count as a visit to an absentee, we are in a hefty competition at church and I have no phone number with which to reach you. K
29th April 2009

inside joke
there was one, but I don't think anyone got it.

Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb