Das erste Tag


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dusseldorf
January 30th 2013
Published: January 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today was tough. Long flight with little sleep although I did have the whole row of seats to myself which I made into a mini bed thing. Still I couldn't sleep well. Once I arrived in Dusseldorf the brother of my exchange sister Marten met me in the lobby. Immediately my german was put the test. I didn't do so bad but I know it could be better but my mind was little frazzled at that point. So then we wait for my exchange sister (Svea) to come pick us both up and she began to speak to me in english which for me was a glass of water in the desert. It felt good to be able to speak with ease again. But I made the tough decision to implore them that I wanted to be spoken to in German. They spoke much faster than I could have ever imagined. I could hardly keep pace but strangely I understood most of it. I would somewhere between 60-80%. We also had dinner with her father (Odilo) and older brother (Jorin) during which I also spoke very little and listened often. There were times where I would find myself zoning out a little because of how much energy it took to constantly translate and follow the conversation. I know I will get better in time and it's only my first day but I feel a little disappointed. Enough of my language troubles though. On the plus side I'm once again in Germany and it is as I had once remembered it. I truly do love it here. Lots of pictures will be coming soon once I get time to sight see. Late last night we left Dusseldorf to come to Frankfurt where Svea attends college. This is a city I have never seen before and I'm excited for that. Also I'm going to watch Fortuna (Bundesliga Soccer Team) play on saturday!!! I have always wished to see a real football match and i'm totally psyched about that. Thats all I've got for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb