Gießen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Gießen
January 31st 2013
Published: January 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today is the second day. To start with Jet Lag caught up with me and I spent most of the night awake. About 4 hours of sleep from 8 to 12. I woke up when Svea came in to tell me that we were leaving in an hour. So I did the morning routine real quick and got ready to go. We left the house and made our way to the main train station in Frankfurt to catch a train to Gießen with our Frankfurt friends where Svea's other friends lived. They had invited her/me tagging along to a poetry slam. Gießen is a moderate sized city with a University so it has a good vibe. During this whole time my german was getting better but still I feel so behind sometimes. Especially with all these girls. They are chatty anyways and everything is so fast. But I guess its good practice to be with the fastest talkers in the world. We arrived in Gießen and then met the other friends for dinner. Again I'm not saying much mostly listening and trying to not make mistakes. I tell them all where I'm from ( the Land of cowboys and indians) and they are interested. I tell them about the rodeos and wheat fields. I even told them about Rednecks ( which they had no clue about ). Then we head off to the poetry slam but first we stop to pick up more friends. The poetry slam was waayyyy cool. Imagine mostly hipsterish germans everyone is drinking something either waiting in the line or already inside. Once we got inside we grabbed some good seats and got drinks. When I say everyone was drinking thats exactly what I mean. Even the poets on stage would have beers in hand. The poetry was actually really good. Some of it was just funny story type stuff and others were more deep and poetic. I understood about 60% but I managed to get some of the jokes. After that we went back to one of her friends apartments drank beer and watched german bachelor which was pretty cool too. Finished up and caught the late train back to Frankfurt. I have pictures now though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

We must kill TerrorismWe must kill Terrorism
We must kill Terrorism

On the bathroom wall of an apartment. lol
EuropaTurmEuropaTurm
EuropaTurm

TV tower in frankfurt. literally right outside my window


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb