Dusseldorf-New York City


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We tried to sail home...We tried to sail home...We tried to sail home...

And Heather rented a boat called the 'Manor Born' - but that did NOT work out well
After such an awesome day yesterday, I was sort of weirdly excited to be heading home. We got the airport, which was again, surprisingly nice. We slowly got back into being American by getting McDonalds for lunch - but mostly because we had no cash and needed to use our cards, which regardless of what people say, are not the best way to pay for things in Europe. We were randomly on the plane back to JFK with my friend Jeff from Pitt, and again, what I said was true. The further you get from home, the smaller the world becomes. That was the 4th Pitt person Id seen in the past 5 days. We sat next to an interesting girl from Greece / Connecticut on the plane, and a nice guy from Connecticut. It wasnt a bad plane ride with my computer, ipod, and the two fine inflight movies. It was 9 hours, and like 6700 miles, but that WILL happen. We got to JFK, got a bus to Grand Central Station, where Heather and I split up 😞 I took a shuttle to Penn Station at Madison Square Garden, then used New Jersey Transit (which was suprsingly nice and on time... but I am definitly spoiled by Europe trains) to get to Hamilton, NJ where my aunt picked me up (thanks Aunt Deb) and got me home around 11:00.

The trip total was:

32 days, 22 cities, 13 countries, and 11 languages, 1 world cup game

And as much as I know Ill regret it in like 2 days, I was quite excited to get back to the USA. For a few reasons:

I missed getting refills on drinks
I missed using normal plugs with 3-4 adaptors just to charge my ipod
I missed have products that were low priced (and walmart type places where you could get more than one thing at any given place)
I missed plain tap water - not sprakling, or tonic, or anything of that euro trash
I missed US food. Even the US brand food we had in Europe just wasn's as good (aka - fatty)
I missed have light switches IN the bathroom, instead of outside so jerks could turn off the lights while you were inside
I missed ice. It was impossible to get ice in anything.
I missed the ease of using any ATM, and not rejecting my international card

And the trip helped me a learn a lot about the world, and myself. I really learned patience, because it was something you had to have. I also learned that it is OK when plans dont work out as orignally planned. I loosened up a lot when it came to that, and also made great strides in meeting people. I mean, anyone who knows me knows I can talk forever to anyone. But actually starting conversation with people was always a weakness... but by necessity, I can now strike up a conversation with anyone at anytime... and even in any language. I really appreciate the diversity of the US, and all the types of people we have. I know I stuck out as an American when I was there, even when I didnt look touristy. Everyone looks relativly the same and anyone foriegn sticks out... unlike in the US. And finally, it really reaffirmed my appreciation for the US as a country, and all of the things we have that others.

It was sort of a double edged sword. I knew I would miss Europe - the people, the amazing sites, and the memories of the trip. And I knew Id get back to the US and want to be back in Europe right away (which is true), but I really have an appreciation for what I have, and how I live. This will not be my last trip abroad, and in fact, Heather and I are busy planning our next already. I really wanted to thank her (even if she left me for 7 days in the middle of the trip), and especially her family for everything they did for us on the trip. I also wanted to thank my parents, and my whole group of family and friends who supported me with emails and messages on the trip. Im glad everyone liked the blog, and Ill be sure to email when pictures on online.

"The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page." ~St. Augustine

Till the next trip...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb