we got rocked


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

chillin in Amsterdamchillin in Amsterdamchillin in Amsterdam

after a Holland victory, Ruben and my fellow travelers are all smiles
Hi.

Pics later, and videos.

I am trying to drink away my sorrows in Gelsenkirchen after my team decided to not play today and pretend like they are the fucking worst team in the World Cup. So I write you semi-drunk from Gelsenkirchen central square....

Fuck.

I had so much hidden confidence for my nation's team and really looked forward to the match. We lost 3 to fuckin 0, and the goals came at the worst time. Minute 4, then right before halftime then after we hit the post and midway through the second half. Fuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No one wanted to play. No one saw it as if this was the world cup except a player here and there. Thankfully the times since have been really fun. I love the Czech fans. They are so fun and actually the US ones are wicked chill as well, being pretty calm afterwards and turning the negative into some sort of fun positive for the evening.

Tonight, we will drive to Berlin to be there in the morning for the Brazil CROATIA match. I am pretty excited for Croatia because I was there a few weeks prior and I
me in Haarlemme in Haarlemme in Haarlem

nobody would take my picture (boo hoo) so I took my own in the latenight kabab shop
am now fake Croatian (similiarly, I tell people I am fake Canadian since I have lived in Van). I am in a netcafe in Gelsenkirchen with a beer next to me. I am trying to forget this ever happened ;-)

What have I been up to?

I met my friends in Frankfurt and we hung out for opening day there for the WC. There was a lot of hype in the media because England played there on the 10th (we were there on the 9th). They made it seem as if the HOLLIGANS were destroying the world. Actually, they were crazy fun and between the crew of us, made if really easy for us anglophones. One hilarious thing in this trip in general is how much in common the anglophones of the world have. But I could write a book on that and I won't, so trust me.

We made it to Haarlem for a handful of days. It is a 15 minute tram ride from Amsterdam. Fortunately, we were there for the opening Dutch game. For the game, I met an old colleague, Ruben, for the match. He is from Holland and we worked one summer
US v CzechUS v CzechUS v Czech

the men of the manvan before the ass-whooping by Czech in Gelsenkirchen
together in Vancouver. Very cool guy. So me, my brother Andy, Cory, Ruben, and his gf Rose gathered in a very popular square in Amsterdam for the match. Later, we met my friend Jeff and made way towards the infamous redlight distrint for infinite humor and entertainment. In the morning, we were en route to Gelsenkirchen, myself driving a 9 person van across random parts of Holland and Germany and eventually to Gelsenkirchen, where I type.

I don't know where to start but today involved a lot of crammed trains, awesome Czech people and embarressing disappointment. FUCK!!!! Ya, we got rocked. But now it is fun and we still will go to another game in a few days, after Berlin and Prague. I just wanted to give a shout to the ol blog and apologize for our team sucking and praying our coach gets our players' heads out of their asses.

I will NOT let this ruin my trip, I tell myself. World Football is all about disappointment and hope and regrets. The US is entering this realm, and has a lot to learn.

Shouts out from Gelsenkirchen. I will drive a van all night to Berlin
maintaining high spiritsmaintaining high spiritsmaintaining high spirits

Captain America is still strong after a'rockin
tonight to see drnojoke.de in the morning, along with Brazil v CROATIA (I REALLY want them to win!).

Enjoy the games, fools.

brad


Advertisement



13th June 2006

I watched the game too
Man! My condolence goes to you! Czech is too much, even though your team was playing pretty bad. Hope they can pull it back against Italy and Ghana. Italy looks pretty strong today too... Also, I was looking for you on TV, but where the fuck are you? are you supposed to be running naked in the field, as we planed already! What? you chickened out?!!!! Do it next time when you guys agaist Italy... gogogo! Croatians! --Kray Eyes

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb