Arrival and Beginning of School


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
August 20th 2009
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everybody! I arrived in Cologne exactly a week ago today. The flights were uneventful and we were able to navigate the train system sucessfully (and yes, they do actually go an average of 165 km/s which is about 100mph). The first night we had dinner in the Stadtmitte Fuβgangerzone (the middle of the city on the Rhine) and had a lovely view of the Cathedral as well as some local fare.

At first the plan was for me to attend a course at a local language school however after my first day they said that I should just go straight to the normal school as the lessons were not doing me much good. Therefore on Wednesday I had my first day of school at the Kreuzgasse Gymnasium in Cologne (www.kreuzgasse.de) after a little bit of a rocky start, things have smoothed out. I'm taking math, german, english, chemistry, physics, biology, politics, sports, philosophy and maybe a little french. During the day, the majority of classes are in the room assigned to the 10c class, as is traditional in the German school system, and courses like chemistry and sports are in a lab or a gym as is necessary.

As my USB connector for my camera did not make it into my luggage, pictures will be included soon. Liebe Grüβe von Köln!
~Hannah deNevers



Advertisement



20th August 2009

greetings
Glad to hear things are going well.
20th August 2009

physics
Now aren't you glad you took physics as a freshman!
21st August 2009

Hurrah!
Hallo Hannah - das ist ja toll! - direkt ins Gymnasium. Ich bin stolz auf dich. Mensch, du machst ja wahnsinnig viele Faecher - und Franzoesisch! (Igitt!...Nein kein Problem! Eigentlich ech toll!) Die Schule hier hat angefangen - habe leider (oder auch gut) 6 Klassen - und viel Arbeit. Aber ich werde mich ab und zu melden. Viel viel Spass. Und dieser Travelblog ist eine tolle Idee. Frau B
21st August 2009

Hey Hannah! Glad to hear you made it safe and are eating well, and going to school. I'm back in E-15, up to my butt in freshmen:-) I'll miss you this year. I guess I'll just have to make do with your sister. "Don't get your head stuck in the door!" Mr A
23rd August 2009

WOW
WOW Hannah, It sounds like you are having a BLAST!! we have a foreign exchange student here named Johanna, and we are the semi-host family. I miss you sooooo much! :( but it seems like you are having an AMAZING time!! I will write to you soon, and let you know about everything here!! I miss you bunches!! LOVE!!! -HANNA-

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb