Arrival


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
June 5th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Europe began a little rough when my plane was delayed in Nashville because of storms in the midwest in particular in Chicago. This would not be a problem except fot the fact that my plane was coming from Chicago. So therefore my plane was delayed by an hour and a half.....causing me to miss my plane to Franfurt. Thankfully there were two other United flights leaving from Dulles that night, except the one at 6.50 was full, so I had to take the 9.48 flight. My orginal flight left at 5.16 from Dulles so i had to wait in Dulles for a few hours where I spoke with a retired army guy who was going to China who lived in PA. What else was I going to do? 😊 It really was not that bad and this is the first time that I had something happen traveling internationally by plane. So I will count my blessings. I am thankful I had responsible friends on the other end.

I arrived at Franfurt about 11.15 am and my friend Tim greeted me and drove me to Bonn where I would stay the night. But it was only 2pm when we arrived and I had to stay awake until evenin or I would have horrible jetlag.....so we went to his girlfriends for a bit and then I went to drop off my belongings and then we went around Bonn and I got to see the 7 mountains in german mythology (to tell the truth i did not know exsisted), but none the less it was interesting. That evening after a bit of sightseeing we went to eat at a beer garden and had but of course the native beer to Cologne (Kölsch) and pizza. (Bonn and Cologne are about 30 minutes apart and are considered sister cities) Then we met up with some of his friends and another friend of mine from UT (Conny)who was a international student at the same time Tim was at UT. After this I was so tired I went back and went to sleep.

Today I met up with Conny in the morning and went around Cologne for a bit we went to the biggest catherdral ever and went to see the Catholic treasury which was really cool, i will post pictures later of that. Then we walked along the Rhine river for a bit and then Conny had to work which is where I am currently at 😊. Tonight I think I will meet up with my friends, Micheal and Elodie for dinner and then will spend tonight in Cologne with Conny. In the morning I will leave for Lublijana, Solvenia to see my old roommate from Europe. I am super excited to see her as it has been almost 2 years since I last saw her!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb