Wandering around Bonn


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
November 6th 2010
Published: November 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

“A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.”

Lao Tzu


According to this ancient Eastern wisdom, I must have been a pretty good traveller today. I decided that the best way to get a feel for the city is to let the city take me where it wants me to go. Walking around Bonn with no intention whatsoever in early November is a very colourful experiences - just about all the leaves have fallen off the trees by now, and the ground is covered with thick foliage. I spent at least two hours rustling through the leaves with my boots, letting random choice and traffic lights determine my route. You may think that basing my walking destination on traffic light colour is a little silly, but trust me, in Germany there is no crossing the road on a red light, and waiting every time I wanted to cross the road seemed to detract from the spontaneous nature of my discovery-walk. Inevitably, of course, my random journey still lead me to the Rhein, the all-famous river that stretches throughout the country, and amongst other things I discovered that boat-tours happen as late as early December - that's certainly one of the things that is going on my "to do" list.

Autumn is a good time for solitary walks, and my walk in Bonn was perfect for the season - it was just long enough, and although I had no idea where I was going, I seemed to still end up in the must-see picturesque places and then, when I finally decided it was time to sit down, the city centre turned out to be just a stone throw away. Surprisingly, although it is already November, it is warm enough to sit outside. Especially when sitting outside involves Gulaschsuppe, or the famous German goulash soup, one of the best things in the universe after spending hours on foot! The Germans know how to keep warm in the winter. The Germans are also still fascinating me with their friendliness and desire to interact. This time it was an old German grandpa eager to tell me all about his family connection to England and how he went for a visit 15 years ago. Apparently, his wife's sister married a Jew (!), who had to flee to England during the war years. According to the old man, there is absolutely nowhere to find coffee in England, or at least there wasn't back in the 1980s. I assured him it was no longer so, and neglected to mention that I was also of Jewish descent, although he didn't seem at all prejudiced. At least I'm certainly already getting my fair share of speaking practice, without even asking for it most of the time!

Advertisement



7th November 2010

!!!!!!!
Omg I can't believe I never knew you had such an amazing writing style, love! Absolutely enchanted by your stories - all the colours, flavours, sounds and pictures - can't wait for more! xXXXX
8th November 2010

Oh the splendidness
As I read this I wished I could be the boots on your (no doubt stockinged) feet rustling through that beautiful bed of fallen leaves and I could feel the bite of the crisp cold air on my cheeks (would i still have cheeks if I were a boot). Loving this. And are I say....well written.
9th November 2010

I also wish you were a boot...
...on my, no doubt stockinged just for you, feet. I am simply too grateful that you have been reading and responding to my mad rumblings! Will keep it updated just so you can keep imagining your life as a boot - I already have a good one brewing for tonight, and I do just mean a good blog ;)
9th November 2010

Thank you :-)
I will be sure to update! Maybe one day someone will get them published ;)

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb