Bonn and Koln


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
August 10th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SunsetSunsetSunset

on the drive to Bonn
Shared a ride to Bonn and spent a lovely few days with Judith. We stayed in her beautiful little village just outside of Bonn with her Mom, a teacher, and two brothers, who are sixteen and twelve. Her father lives just up the road. I descended upon them just as school was starting but all of them were so gracious and warm. Spent one evening in watching movies and with Judith and two friends of hers who are a couple. Judith is 19 and about to go off to university to study photography and advertizing. We met last winter in London when I was there studying theatre and she was working there as a nanny (sorry neither I or my spell check know how to spell “ow-pair”). One evening while I was there I saw a friend of Judiths who I had been out with a couple times in London, Marie. It was her birthday so we went to her home where she was having a party and BBQ. Another night we went out dancing in Bonn. Judith took me to the German history museum (which was all in German with no English guides) we breezed through, and every once in
DowntownDowntownDowntown

Judith jumping in front of one of the biggest office buildings in Bonn
a while if something caught my eye, Judith would translate for me. We went to artsy book stores, went to cafes and talked a lot! She introduced me to Mclowds Daughters, a terribly cheesy and wonderfully mind candy, Australian soap opera. On my last day in Bonn we took the train up to Koln and I spent the morning there with her, we saw the Dom (cathedral) and walked though the shopping district window shopping. Judith dropped me off and I took a fairy to a parking lot across the river to meet my next shared ride to Hamburg. Judith suggested I go before Berlin and I thank her for helping me arrange for my rides to both Hamburg and Berlin as well as the amazing list of suggested places to go in both Berlin and Hamburg.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Near Judiths HomeNear Judiths Home
Near Judiths Home

on the way to Emilies Birthday
Big HeadBig Head
Big Head

On the way to the club, this large head lays next to a church in Bonn, downtown
Dom Dom
Dom

in Koln
Dom floorDom floor
Dom floor

in Koln
LightLight
Light

the light in this part of Germany always seems to be beautiful, this is in Dom in Koln
View from the FerryView from the Ferry
View from the Ferry

on the way to meet my next ride


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb