Köln


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Braunschweig
September 6th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone! I have arrived safe and sound in Köln and am about to depart for orientation in Altenberg. Thankfully, the travel was mostly uneventful. I spent two nights in the Kölner Pension which was really near the main part of the city. After sleeping for several hours, I walked to the cathedral. I've been to the cathedral before, so I decided not to climb up to the top again. This is said to house the bones of the three wise men. They're in the very front of the cathedral under the dome in a gilded box surrounded in glass. I also went on a city tour. It took me around in a double decker bus to the town hall, the zoo, the glockenspiel, over several important bridges that I can't actually remember the name of, the medieval part of Köln, the art district, and of course, the cathedral. It was neat to see all the sights, especially without walking anymore.

My hotel room has a small TV. I've started making a list of shows that are better dubbed into German and shows that are worse:

Better: How I Met Your Mother, Alf, The Penguins of Madagascar,
Worse: Family Guy, A Cinderella Story (with Hillary Duff - which was on two separate times in 2 days!)

Favorite Things I've seen so far:

A guy riding the train with a bass.
Weird hebrew subtitles on my plane screen that won't go away
German Bakeries
Random collections of Um-Pa-Pa bands roaming the streets
Döner
Hearing glee music in the train station
A new kind of child leash that lets the kid ride on a toy car that is pulled by the parents
Spiderman posing with children outside the cathedral.
A TV-show featuring the singing currywurst chefs.

I'll post picture links as soon as facebook will let me upload them, I've been having trouble with it.

XOXO,

April



Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb