Having a break from working


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
December 1st 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 River01 River01 River

The river Main.
Geo: 50.0442, 8.40606

I decided that I needed a few days break from working, so I booked a cheap flight to Frankfurt, to see more of Germany. Somehow I made the 7.20am flight out of Stansted, the journey started at 4am with me standing at the bus stop at the end of my street. I flew with Ryanair and was landing at Frankfurt-Hahn airport- which I discovered after booking my flight is no where near Frankfurt, but in Hahn- only an hour and forty-five minute bus ride away from Frankfurt!! Oh well, was a chance for me to catch up on sleep. Once I arrived in Frankfurt I went to the hostel, which was located in a nice part of the city, across the road from the train station and in the red light/drug district!! After leaving my bag in my room, I set out to see the city. I walked in the direction of the old town. 80% of the town centre was destroyed by bombing raids in the second war and some of it has been re-built. The river Main runs through the city and I walked along the river to reach the old part of town. It was a
02 Building02 Building02 Building

A building by the river.
beautiful day for the 1st day of winter, blue sky and sun.
Then I saw some Christmas markets and they lead me to Romerberg- Frankfurt's old central square. Here there are restored 14th and 15th century buildings that are very pretty. In the middle of the square is the Gerechtigkeitsbrunnen (such a long word!!), which is the fountain of justice and in 1612 it ran with red wine. Between the buildings I could see the Frankfurter Dom (cathedral). The tower is 15th century Gothic style and one of the few structures to survive the bombing raids. Just to be pedantic, it has never been a real cathedral as there has never been an archbishop here. But it is still a lovely building, pink and made out of red sand stone. I walked towards the cathedral and went in. It was plain inside, but very light.
I spent the rest of the day browsing the many Christmas markets. I came across the pedestrian shopping street- a good place to go when it is dark at 4.30pm! The Christmas markets sold many things, but mainly, gingerbread, sweets, sausages, mulled wine, Christmas decorations, gifts and lots of ready to eat hot food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

03 Romerberg03 Romerberg
03 Romerberg

A building in Romerberg- old central square.
04 Romerberg04 Romerberg
04 Romerberg

Christmas markets in Romerberg and the bell tower of the cathedral can be seen to the right.
05 Romerberg05 Romerberg
05 Romerberg

More buildings and christmas markets stalls.
06 Romerberg06 Romerberg
06 Romerberg

Pretty buildings and market stalls galore.
07 Tower07 Tower
07 Tower

Gothic style tower of the Frankfurt Dom (cathedral).
08 Looking up08 Looking up
08 Looking up

Looking up at the tower.
09 Organ09 Organ
09 Organ

The cathedral's organ.
10 Ceiling10 Ceiling
10 Ceiling

The ceiling and arches of the cathedral.
11 Decoration11 Decoration
11 Decoration

Some of the decoration in the cathedral.
12 Altar12 Altar
12 Altar

Looking towards the altar.
13 Gingerbread13 Gingerbread
13 Gingerbread

One of the many gingerbread stalls.
14 Sausages14 Sausages
14 Sausages

A huge BBQ cooking sausages.
15 Romer15 Romer
15 Romer

The outside of the Romer- Town hall.
16 Romerberg16 Romerberg
16 Romerberg

In the middle is the Font of Justice, the fountain once ran with wine in 1612.
17 Christmas tree17 Christmas tree
17 Christmas tree

The large christmas tree out the Romer.
18 Romerberg18 Romerberg
18 Romerberg

More buildings and stalls in the old square.
19 Interesting corner building19 Interesting corner building
19 Interesting corner building

I like the top of this building.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb