Frankfurt: beer and jetlag


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
September 28th 2016
Published: June 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo

- Al Gore

Greetings from Frankfurt! We are in the Goethe bar enjoying a Paulaner Hefeweizen before our flight to Cairo. The flight from Vancouver was uneventful, as you want air travel to be. It was fairly pleasant in my window seat until the guy in front of me moved his seat all the way back. So then, with my monitor two inches from my face, I had no choice but to move my seat back too, to the annoyance of the person seated behind me. Ah well. As usual I couldn't sleep on the flight, but I watched 3 movies. It's just after 12:30 pm here local time, 3:30 am Vancouver time. Feeling a bit jet lagged now.

Unfortunately Lufthansa didn't have a record of my vegetarian meal but the dinner was a veggie pasta so it was ok. Kind of heavy, but not bad. Enjoyed a Warsteiner as well.

We have a couple of hours before our connecting flight. I saw a place that provides chair massages, so maybe we'll get one before the Cairo flight.

Our flight lands about 7:10 pm, and I think it takes an hour or so to get to our hotel. I can't believe we will soon be in Cairo! I hope we have a view of the Nile from our hotel room. We bought a small Bombay Sapphire gin from the Vancouver duty free, and the flight attendants on our flight gave us several small cans of tonic, so we are all set for gin and tonics in our hotel room. The hotel doesn't serve alcohol, so we are prepared (not that we are alcoholics or anything, despite the impression I'm probably giving!)

Tomorrow our guide picks us up at 7 am for our day tour to Alexandria, so we will have a full day. No lazing around getting over jet lag for us ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th September 2016

Cheers
28th September 2016

Great view of the Rockies. Beautiful morning in Victoria!
29th September 2016

Love that Al Gore quote!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb