Couch Surfing, Nazi Architecture, and Drinking on the Streets


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
September 14th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dark Hefeweizen  Dark Hefeweizen  Dark Hefeweizen

Out with Edith on another small pub.
The next few nights I was Couch Surfing! Couchsurfing.org is an online network for travelers to connect with other travelers in countries around the globe. Here individuals offer to host travelers on their couch or a night or two at no charge. It is a great way to meet local people when you travel and also as a host, it is a fun opportunity to meet with people from other countries. I had once hosted an Australian musician on my couch, but this is my first time staying on someone else’s couch.

After spending a night in the 5 Elements Hostel, I set out to meet Solveig who I had been in contact with on Couch Surfing. We had planned to meet a “Small Tower” outside of Bockenheimer Warte, which is a station near her house. After several objects that appeared as though they could be small towers and several life-sized dinosaurs later, I waited at what I thought was the most likely monument.

It was a beautiful day and about 80 degrees with no humidity. I sat on a bench shaded by trees and enjoyed the cool breeze. Time went by and she did not come. I walked
Poelzig BuildingPoelzig BuildingPoelzig Building

Now the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences building.
around, attempted to use a pay phone with no luck. Finally I decided to try to find her house with the address she gave me. I could not find the main street I needed to take near any of the intersections in my area.

The extent at which we depend on modern technology cannot be healthy. I felt very stranded not having a cell phone accessible at every second. I had no way of being able to know if I were in the right location, if plans had changed, or to know if she were simply running late. In Anchorage, if I am ever lost or second-guessing my location, all I need to do is pull up google maps on my smart phone and a blinking blue dot shows me my exact location. From there I can get step-by-step directions to where I need to go. In the end, what took me about 3 hours of wondering around and fiddling with pay phones would have been solved in a few seconds with a simple phone call or text: I had taken the wrong tram exit and was on the other side of the building where the “tower” could not
Solveig and MeSolveig and MeSolveig and Me

Drinking Göller Dunkel
be seen.

Despite my initial reaction of inner panic, I was comforted by the fact that I was not on any tight schedule. Things have a way of working themselves out, and I was willing to enjoy the moments until them. I found a café, had lunch and coffee and begin writing. Of course in the end all was not lost. Solveig and I were able to meet up once she finished work.

After dropping my bags off at her house, we went for dinner at a local pub where we sat out at tables on the street. Here she ordered us Handkaes mit Musik and Gruene Sosse, typical German dishes of cheeses, herbs and potatoes. To drink we had Göller Dunkel, a smooth dark beer. At one point I had to go into the very small facility and use the restroom. When I returned, I told her how I thought it was interesting that the women and men shared the restroom. She looked at me mortified; I had used the Men's.

There were other social norms that were very different from the US. For example on our walk back home, we passed the school library where
"The Man""The Man""The Man"

Watching Pinetop Perkins playing a piano outside while drinking whiskey.
a homeless man had built a small fortress. He had lived here for over six years and since he had not caused any trouble, he was allowed to stay there. It seems so simple that this be okay, however in the US our cities are much too proud to allow a cardboard box compound to be set up in plain sight.

The next day, Solveig had the whole day off. She took me to some of the major sights. I had seen a few of them the day before, but had not idea what I was looking at. We went into the Dom, which was the large cathedral in the last blog.

We also went to Frankfurter Kunstverein, an art museum and saw an Iceland exhibit with Edith, one of Solveig’s friends. There were videos, photos and paintings. One of the videos was of an older African American man playing a piano in an open field. They provided shot glasses and bottles of whiskey to sip while we watched the short film. Again, another small luxury that would not have taken place in the US with out strict supervision.

There was a good deal of walking out
Drinks on the SkylineDrinks on the SkylineDrinks on the Skyline

Me, Solveig, Edith, and Steve having wine and Chocolate on the riverside.
in the rain this day. We went all the way over to the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences building, which is the old Poelzig Building. This facility was built in the late 1920s and was used in the 1930s by the IG Farben, a chemical company that produced gas here for the Nazi’s. The huge marble structure is gorgeous, bright, and open with huge windows in the back overlooking a lake with a fountain and weeping willows. In this building remains one of the last functioning Paternoster elevators in Frankfurt. It is a system with many compartments that continuously move in a slow loop. Only two people fit and they do not have doors, but people can go in and out as they wish between floors. Due to a recent accident they were temporary closed.

Through school we study the second world war and it seems so distant and far away. It was strange to be in this place and know its history and touch its walls. It was also powerful to see it now be used as an institute for learning.

While Solveig and I were waiting on our train the last night, she pulled out some cups and opened a bottle of wine and we sat amidst the busy station drinking. In Germany, people are allowed to walk around on the streets and drink.

After the train, we walked into the night and found our way to the skyline peering into the main river and a large bright moon overhead. Here we met a few of her friends, pulled out a blanket and continued on with our bottles of wine and German chocolates. The next day I would be heading to Amsterdam.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Whiskey for All!Whiskey for All!
Whiskey for All!

Watching Pinetop Perkins playing a piano outside while drinking whiskey.
German BreakfastGerman Breakfast
German Breakfast

Notice the Nutella!
Edith and Me on her Bike!Edith and Me on her Bike!
Edith and Me on her Bike!

Out with Edith on another small pub. We stayed late. Missing the last trains, she had to give me a ride home on the back of her Bicycle. My butt hurt for days...!
Dom OrganDom Organ
Dom Organ

Inside the Dom
"Americaners""Americaners"
"Americaners"

A cake shaped like a cookie which they call "Americans." Ironically we do not actually have these n the US to my knowledge.


20th September 2011

Keep posting sweetheart.
Love reading about your journeys.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb