Layover


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
September 30th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I made it safely to the Frankfurt airport after quite a delay in Chicago. I have so much to talk about already, I've met some nice people along the way and made connections for when I stay in Germany. On the plane ride from Seattle to Chicago I sat next to Jens, a 22 year old German who was finishing up his 4 week holiday in America. We talked about the sights, the people and how Europeans and Americans are different yet the same. He said that Seattle reminded him of a European city, very much. He and I are going to try to meet up in Germany when I get there, should be fun. He promised me a beer.

Once I arrived in Chicago I grabbed a bite to eat and stretched my legs. Chicago is bidding to be the city where the Olympics are held in 2016 so it is very colorful and ad-stricken! We boarded the plane with only one problem, the drunk guy in front of me and sure enough, he sat next to me. The plane was delayed leaving Chicago because the computers where down in Germany. Who would of thought?! We sat on the ground waiting to be approved for takeoff for a mere 90 minutes. The drunk guy reeked of alcohol and was not even entertaining. I did sit next to a gal who has dual citizenship in both the US and Germany. We exchanged info and talked about life.

I'm getting ready to board the plane to Rome. The fact that I am sitting in a European airport right now brings a HUGE smile to my face. The day is here, this is my time!

Auf Wiedersehen! (Goodbye in German)

Advertisement



30th September 2009

YAY
You go girl!!!
30th September 2009

And your off.....
Shelby I'm glad to see that you are on your way to see the world. We all hope you have a great time and meet tons of great people. I look forward to reading about all of your adventures. Have fun and be safe Brian

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb