Mission Waldgeist: Partial Success


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
June 11th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Rothenburg to Frankfurt


Train to Frankfurt required several changes but I finally got there. Handy that the ticket terminals at the station let you print out the train timetable. Found my hostel was in the middle of the red light district, got hassled by spruikers at 3pm lol.

But there was two reasons I stopped at Frankfurt. One was to catch the boat the next morning foir a cruise up the Rhine to Koblenz, but the main one was to go and try one of those famous, oversized schnitzels and oversized beers at Waldgeist restaurant, at Hofheim on the outskirts of Frankfurt.

Took the train out there and then walked, was a bit further than I thought, about 5kms. Sat outside in the beer garden where they had a big TV set up for the soccer like everywhere does here at the moment. First up was the 2 litre beer, no handle so you hold it in 2 hands like a little baby drinking a bottle. Gets a few laughs from other people too.

Then out came the schnitzel. Well two schnitzels actually, combined weight approx 2.25 kilos, plus hot chips and mushrooms sauce. Gets more laughs as well, as did other people ordering 30cm diameter burgers.... but no one else was combining it with large drinks. Big girls!!

First schnitzel went down without a problem, then I stopped for a while to have a decent amount of my beer. It was when I started on the second one that I started feeling a bit queasy, from all the oil I think. I slowly made my way through it though, leaving the chips as I didnt need even more oil lol.

Tried to finish the beer but just couldnt do it... the thing was bottomless!! Left about half a pint in there in the end, so that was 3.5 pints into it lol.

Walked back to the station and train back into Frankfurt. Accosted again by spruikers, one Thai girl grabbed me and tried to drag me into her establishment lol, but I got rid of her without taking my hands out of my pockets - didnt want anyone helping themselves to my camera.

I dont think it was the most I have eaten in one go by a decent way... I wasnt in pain as I went to sleep, which has stopped from getting to sleep at some other times lol.

Advertisement



17th June 2008

hehe
So where are the pics? Can't wait to see your new beer gut :)

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb