Erdhof


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg
April 17th 2010
Published: April 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's like I'm back to civilization. Except it's the other way around. Back to the countryside. But it feels so much more civilized. Ah, clean air and fresh veggies. Yes.

I'm in a small town called Heidenau - there are two Heidenau's (at least) in Germany, but this is the smaller one, near Hamburg. The farm is very small and very young. It started about a year and a half ago, and the couple that runs it is in their mid-twenties. They have two kids, ages 3 years and 7 months. They are incredibly cute. There are also 15 baby pigs, 8 of which have been born while I was here (there are also 3 adult pigs). There are 4 cows, 3 geese, and some chickens. We've been doing a lot of planting and seeding (onions, Wirsing (I think kale but I'm not sure), zucchini, pumpkin, basil...), feeding the pigs (there are now 15 baby pigs! so cute!), and a lot of digging (burying an electrocable, digging holes for fenceposts). The last one is hard but it makes me feel strong and satisfied.

I have only been on the farm a few days, so I haven't traveled at all. But I have a few friends here in Germany that I want to visit, so I'm kind of waiting to take days off until I know where those plans are going. Viola and David are totally cool about me taking time off, but I figured why do it until I have a reason?

We are 30k from Hamburg, which is supposed to be pretty good. It would be long but I might even bike there - they say it's flat. And I miss biking. I think I'm going to go for a run today - we only had half a day of work since it's Saturday.

I've been fortunate to have good weather here, but it's not Israel. I feel like I've gone from summer to fall, because it got colder, haha. Silly world. Speaking of Israel, my last bit there was possibly the best of my whole time in the country. I got to spend more time with Rabea and Danniella, two of my favorite people I met there (who are both internationals, go figure). It was everything from political encounters, to working in a soup kitchen, to hippie parties in the woods, to crazy nights in Jerusalem with some awesome Australians. I could explain it all, but you kind of had to be there. Sorry guys.

Exactly one and a half months and one day til I touch down in Chicago. I guess I am counting now 😊

Advertisement



18th April 2010

hi
HI MADDY; JUST SPOKE TO YOUR MOM AND ALL IS WELL ON THIS END. WE ARE PACKING UP AND GETTING READY TO GO BACK TO ILLINOIS. WE ENJOYED YOUR BLOG. ITS GREAT THAT SO FAR THE VOLCANO IN ICELAND HAS NOT AFFECTED YOU. STAY WELL AND BE CAREFULL. WE MISS YOU AND CAN HARDLY WAIT TO SEE YOU. LOVE GRANDMA HENI AND GRANDPA DICK.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb