One last stand - for the arts


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg
July 12th 2008
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Fashion photo exhibitFashion photo exhibitFashion photo exhibit

shows contrast between stark straight features of the exhibition hall with angular picture frames on high walls and the people looking at them.
12 July:
THE ARTIST who conducted guided tours in the Bergedorf castle park had told me, "On Saturday you must go to the Deichtor (dike gate) exhibition grounds." Problem is, when I get there I find not one but two art retrospectives going on simultaneously in separate buildings. Which one was I supposed to view? I should pay more attention. At first I'm not interested in the show of fashion photographer F.C. Gundlach, but find it increasingly fascinating as I wander around looking at location shots taken of models in such bold natural settings as the Sahara desert or grandiose man-made structures as in Brasilia. There are also black-and-white documentary photos taken during film productions, gala parties and the like in the late 1960s. In one room, which features fashions from the op art and flower power days, I realize that I had lived through this time myself as I turned from youth to adulthood.

The other exhibit is of the work -- whimsical sculpture, tongue-in-cheek short films and projections, as well as traditional photography -- of two Swiss artists, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, entitled "Questions and Flowers." An attendant catches me taking a photo and pronounces in stern
Question(able) bowlQuestion(able) bowlQuestion(able) bowl

Sorry, folks, no time to translate, but my German friends will surely chuckle.
Germanic fashion which permits no ifs and buts, "Photography is not allowed." I can't seen any signs to that effect, but politely reply that I didn't know. He then continues, "However, you may go to the reception, pay 3 Euros and sign a form declaring your photography is for personal use only. Then you may take as many pictures as you like." Aha, so even in this land of rules and regulations they make exceptions... in exchange for a modest fee. I wonder how far one can take that? In any case, I do as he bade me do.

It is 15 minutes to closing and the receptionist has already cashed out, so all I have to do is sign on the dotted line and attach a photographer's sticker to my coat. As the same attendant sees me snapping away, he shouts across the hall for all to hear his rehearsed command. But before he has finished the sentence his commanding voice trails off, as with an equally grand gesture I stab my finger at the permit sticker which must have been hidden by my arms during picture-taking. Off he trots in search for some other hapless sinner.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Self portrait of the artistSelf portrait of the artist
Self portrait of the artist

taking a photo next to bowl.
Humorous clay sculpturesHumorous clay sculptures
Humorous clay sculptures

invite people to wander and ponder and smile.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb