Hamburg v. Barcelona


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
July 24th 2012
Published: July 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Side Note... Not a group activity but rather something I thought I would share...

As a football coach, I know that I am not really supposed to like the game of soccer. However, with the moral decay of the NBA rapidly increasing during the 1990’s and 2000’s, it quickly created a culture which I could not support and came to find great disdain for. This was further justified when our proud franchise, the Sonics were stolen from us by a group of Midwestern cattle rustlers. As a sports fanatic however, I needed to find something to follow between football and baseball season. I came to know the game of soccer when I had the opportunity to study in England during college. It grew on me… the passion, and the tradition. I have been an ardent soccer fanatic for some time now, following Chelsea, Hull City FC, Inter Milan and of course Barcelona, and recently, our hometown side the Sounders.

When we arrived in Hamburg, it came to my attention that Barcelona, team of teams, was to play an international preseason friendly against Hamburg, in Hamburg! Alas however, it was sold out.

Everyone said it couldn’t be done, but
Stadium SeatsStadium SeatsStadium Seats

Hamburg Has Been A Team Two Years Longer Than Washington Has Been A State!
it had to be done! I had to score tickets to that match!

Shaun and Chris agreed, and we got it done! Three inflated ticket prices later and we were in!

For me, it was well worth it! To be able to experience the passion, the chants, the songs and the general atmosphere of a big time European match first hand was amazing! The level of play was incredible as well!

The score line? Well, who really cares? But in the end it was Barcelona over Hamburg 2-1 in an incredibly entertaining match!

Check one big one off the bucket list!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

First Division ClockFirst Division Clock
First Division Clock

Hamburg is the ONLY team in the Bundesliga who has NEVER been demoted from the top flight! They are proud of it! This clock keeps track of how long they have been in the first division.


Tot: 0.365s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb