My Hamburg Scar


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
November 18th 2010
Published: November 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The idea was a Friday to Sunday weekend and due to an 'incident' stayed for an extra day. So Hamburg, what I remember and what I saw before the concussion - Hamburg is a very free thinking, liberal city. Not what I would associate as a typically German city. The city recognises and celebrates diversity, and holds its arms open to all. It has a very safe and non aggressive feeling to it. As a slightly tipsy foreign girl wandering about, speaking not a word of German except Entschuldigung, Gesundheit, and zwei ASTRA bitte I met many a colourful local, and danced the night away with a local Hamburgian who very possibly fought against my great granddad.

I stood and stared at the Rote Flora on Schulterblatt. First impressions weren't good, this is a building in-between shops, bars and restaurants that quite frankly looked like a run down, graffitied, unoccupied for 20 yrs Addams family mansion. But it has as I found out got so much interesting and passionate history behind it that once you know the background transforms this terrifying building into something of architectural beauty.
The history behind this building, as I was informed by my sexy personal guide for the weekend was that this building has been occupied (squatted in to you and I) for the best part of 20 yrs, originally a theatre, is now a meeting place, and Mecca for all that is left wing. It also serves as an alternative music venue. Behind is a park, complete with half pipe, free climbing wall, and lots of places to sit and drink beer! This is all the property liberal central, so therefore everyone!!
this is a must see as it is a lot of what this city is about, and you kinda get the gist of what the ideology of the locals is.

Just across the road, which these Germans cross without the use of a green man 😊 is a fabulouso Italian Deli SUPER MERCATO ITALIANO. This is where you will have the mother of all bruscetta, smothered in Pesto, made in front of your eyes, and de-vour a huge bowl of pasta made by a huggable little old grey Italian man, just like mamma used to make. Seriously delish. A very popular place!!

These 2 places took up 2 hrs of my 3 day experience, so I will write more in time. I saw a lot of sights, and drank in a lot of places, and I will tell all about the Hamburg Hpspital experience 😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb