Finals


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

Well, tomorrow begins my last week of classes, and it still feels like I will never get to go home. I'm not looking forward to finals at all... for many reasons. I guess I never really got used to the University system over here. Classes once a week, Professors canceling classes left and right, and I never feel sufficiently prepared whether I go to class or not- for most of my classes.

My human resources class, where my teacher doesn't speak any English (and it's supposed to be an English class) feels like a lost cause to me right now. I haven't learned a single thing from him all semester, but am doing the studying from the reader on my own, since that is in English. At this point I am praying that the exam will be in English.. I don't know what I would do if it wasn't. I don't have the extended vocabulary for this class, which is why it is so much harder. I try to pay attention to what he says and write some words or phrases down to look up later, and that has marginally helped, but overall, I'm feeling so lost.. and it's a 4 credit class.

In another of my classes, my Cultural Management class, we haven't had any material whatsoever- no joke- the whole class is based on student presentations, which was a bit like my German 305 class last fall, except we weren't expected to write an exam based on the presentations. Here, I think we are.. which just makes no sense to me. It is only worth 2 credits, and to get the full 2 credits, Bryan and i have to do an extra presentation. I feel like for 2 measly credits, is this even worth it? But gotta do what ya gotta do I guess. So Bryan and I on Thursday have to do a short presentation in my Intercultural Interaction class, just reviewing the material and wrapping it all up. Our teacher, whom we have for both of these classes, felt that there was nothing extra to do in the Cultural Management class, so she assigned us the project for our Intercultural Interaction class. Which is fine, I guess.

Overall, I just have an ongoing struggle with myself to keep my motivation- which most of the time, I admittedly don't have any of. I truly believe it's the one class a week thing. When classes at home meet 2-3 times per week, you are forced to keep going over things, keep it fresh in your mind, keep studying- not the case here. Hopefully this week I will be able to stay focused and actually study. I've tried so hard to stay open minded through the entire semester, and force myself to be okay with this college system, but it hasn't worked. I have a new appreciation for the way things are done back home. I used to think that quizzes and tests were a pain, but now I realize, without them, there is no reason to stay motivated and study, of course, until finals week. 13 more days for me.. let's see if I can make it.

Love, J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb