Bekki's Hamburg Visit & Easter Weekend


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
March 17th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me before leavingMe before leavingMe before leaving

I try to get good pics when my hair is cooperating.
Hey all,

It's been another interesting week. School kept me very busy and the week went by very fast. I do have some problems with my schedule, but I had a meeting with the boys to get everything fixed.. I think everything is going to be OK now, hopefully.

Bekki came from Salzburg to visit on Friday night (2 weeks ago now), and it's been a fun weekend. On Saturday we actually just walked around St Pauli (red light district) and that was fun. We actually went to this erotic art museum and it was so cool! This old guy that runs it did all of the artwork himself, and we even got a picture with him. We pretty much just hung around and walked around the city for the rest of the weekend, we saw the Other Boleyn Girl (again, for me) at the Grindel, and just overall had fun.

This past weekend was our easter trip to Vienna! It was amazing, and I'm glad my memory served me correctly when remembering how wonderful that city really is. Being easter weekend, there were loads of tourists, and it even got frustrating for me at times, but because
Hotel RoomHotel RoomHotel Room

View to the right from the door
everyone was speaking english! So weird. I remember occasionally trying to fight my way into a small store and being like "entschuldigung" over and over again, and nobody moving and everyone looking at me like i was a foreigner... im like come on people if your going to travel, at least learn the important words of the language. It was a very interesting feeling, considering I myself am a native english speaker. We also discovered a new austrian greeting, "Gruss Gott". Everyone says it when you come and go, and it was an odd thing to get used to. In Hamburg, we are much more informal and just say "Hallo, Tschuess" that kind of thing, and there it was always "Guten Tag, Gruss Gott, Auf Wiedersehen". Their dialect almost sounds a bit like italian, sometimes russian. It was a very interesting experience. Last time I was there 5 years ago, I didn't know enough German to pick up on this, but it's really cool but weird to have a language barrier within the same language.

Other than the seldom aggravation, everything about the trip was awesome. We arrived on Friday morning to a 4 star, brand new, 350 euro
Hotel RoomHotel RoomHotel Room

View straight across the room from the door
per night hotel (being we only paid 270 euros for round trip lufthansa flight and 3 nights hotel stay, thanks to Joe's job) and never wanted to leave again. We walk in, people rush over to us and take our bags, check in, and they start telling us about their spa services, gym, restaurant and bar, limo service, flower service, and more fun perks. I knew at that moment this is where I was meant to be, in the lifestyle in which I was meant to live. I would have been perfectly fine staying in the hotel the whole time, but I figured I should try to see some of the city too. We walked around quite aimlessly on friday, then Saturday, Sunday, and Monday we were on specific missions; some of the highlights were Schoenbrunn Palace (my second time there), Sigmund Freud museum, 2 of Beethoven's apartments, TGI Fridays (well, it was a big thing for me) and a war history museum at the Vienna Armory.

On easter Joe went to church at Stephansdom, which is absolutely huge and beautiful, while I stayed in bed. I was going to go too, but woke up too late. He let
Hotel RoomHotel RoomHotel Room

The amazing bed
me sleep in.. how sweet. Joe did play the role of the easter bunny in a big way- we had no basket, but he was up at 2am putting together an easter arrangement on the coffee table in the room... sooo cute!!! And I even got an easter present.. I'm with the best, and occasionally jealous of myself. Easter dinner was also great. We discovered a cute, cozy little restaurant in Heiligenstadt (in the area of the city where Beethoven lived) and it was very interesting. I had easter ham, which was great, and Joe had Turkey cordon bleu. Together, the bill was 20 euros- we were amazed.

Well it was an amazing weekend, but went by extremely fast. Joe now says he is a Wiener, however I still stand as a Hamburger, through and through. Enjoy the pics!

Love, J




Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

The TV... yea, there were speakers in the bathroom...
Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

Looking back at the front door from the windows
Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

Amazing shower/tub
Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

bathroom
Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

The toilet was in a seperate part of the bathroom, separated by sliding doors.. soo cool
Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

foot wash, we decided.
3rd Floor Quiet Room3rd Floor Quiet Room
3rd Floor Quiet Room

Anyone could sit in this room for quiet space, reading, etc. For an extra 50 euros per night (which we didnt have) waiters would serve you free food and drinks.
Gym and SpaGym and Spa
Gym and Spa

View up from the 3rd floor to the gym and spa
ChurchChurch
Church

There were churches everywhere, but this one was really cute i thought


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb