American Visitors In Hamburg!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
October 28th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its been a busy couple of weeks here with lots of friendly faces! I have spent this week trying to get back to normal with school and I have now started my German language class twice a week at nights. I skipped a couple of levels from September so that is promising and im looking forward to improving my skills even more! I am continuing to apply for internships in the spring and finish up my MBA applications for next year. I still find myself with a lot of time! I am trying to appreciate the fact that I am able to sit around for an entire day and do nothing. But as many of you know, I am an active busy person and this is quite hard for me. But I have lots of fun trips to look forward to in the near future. So here we go...

I have been looking forward to my visits from Lesli and her mom and also my mom for many months. Being over here for three months without seeing any of my good friends or family has been quite hard. Lesli and her mom arrived on Friday, Oct 26 in Frankfurt and
WeizenWeizenWeizen

Enjoying her first german beer in Germany!
then hopped on a train up to Hamburg. I know they were exhausted, but i headed down to the hotel anyways, I was anxious to see them. After a while of catching up and giving them time to have a shower and slightly adjust. We then set out to the city to do a little sight seeing and get some dinner. We were able to see some of the main city and then took the train over to Altona, not too far from the city to try a reccomended restaurant. We all enjoyed a fabulous meal and then headed back to the city as Lesli and her mom were very tired from their travels and needed to get a good nights sleep.

On Saturday I met them at the hotel and we set out for the Harbor. We enjoyed a nice lunch in the harbor where Lesli and her mom had their first German wheat beer. Then we hopped on the Grosse Hafenrundfahrt (Harbor Roundtrip). It was so interesting to see all of the large ships in the harbor with their cargo. I couldn't believe how large these ships were, it was incredible! After the harbor we walked over
Grosse HafenrundfahrtGrosse HafenrundfahrtGrosse Hafenrundfahrt

Lesli and her mom enjoying some gluhwein on the harbor tour
to St. Michael's church, a famous church in Hamburg where you can climb to the top and get an incredible view of the city. It was just becoming dusk, but after a hefty climb to the top we enjoyed spectacular views of the city and the harbor. The church itself inside was very beautiful and light. Most of the churches in Hamburg are Protestant as opposed to the south of Germany where most everything is Catholic. We quickly dropped by my apartment to change and then headed to the hotel so that Lesli and her mom could as well. We grabbed a cab to a fabulous restaurant also in the Altona area and had an absolutely fabulous dinner and tried some German wines. Then it was off to the Reeperbahn for Saturday night festivities. We started off at the Sommersalon and enjoyed a few beers, met up with some of my friends. Then Lesli and I were off with some of the guys to China Lounge which is a huge club over on the Reeperbahn. The plan was to stay out till the Fischmarkt (a hamburg tradition), but we didn't realize that the time change was actually that night. So that made for one more hour that we had to stay out, but we are troopers. We drank cuban rum and danced all night and finally about 6 am followed the crowd down to the Fischmarkt. We made Lesli try all things German, which we totally ate with her, a fisch brotchen (fish sandwich), a brautwurst, and a Doener (fabulous German kebab). The fischmarkt is a crazy idea, you can continue drinking, eat fish, shop, all at 6 am in the morning on a Sunday.

I think we finally ended up home around 8 am, which gave us time for a quick nap before it was time for more sightseeing. We had a nice coffee at the Cafe Paris, which is one of my new fav places, and then met up with one of my new couch surfing friens Katarin. She took us over to the Alster Lakes and we did one of the Canal tours, which takes you through all the small Canals where very rich people in Hamburg live. Hamburg actually has more Canals than Venice, and its also the home of the most millionaires in Germany. We very much enjoyed the beautiful homes with sloping lawns down to the canals and it was a perfect time with the leaves changed in beautiful colors! After the Canal tour we headed back to the hotel to grab lesli and her mom's things as they were off to Berlin, Munich, and Salzburg to see more of fabulous Germany!! We had some quick time to say goodbye at the Hauptbahnhof. I was very sad that I couldn't travel with them, but my mom was arriving in the morning in Hamburg for a week long trip! That entry is coming soon!

I had a fabulous time with the Bothwell ladies! I am so glad they came to visit me in beautiful Hamburg!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Mississippi QueenMississippi Queen
Mississippi Queen

Yes, in Hamburg, you can ride a riverboat...haha
Big ShipBig Ship
Big Ship

Bothwell women with the big ship of cargo
From the TopFrom the Top
From the Top

View of Hamburg from the top of St. Michael's church
BothwellsBothwells
Bothwells

From the top of St. Michaels
Out on the townOut on the town
Out on the town

Lesli and I out on the town
OutOut
Out

Hanging out with Rob, my Chilean friend!
Fischmarkt!Fischmarkt!
Fischmarkt!

Nothing like a fish sandwich at 6 am
BratBrat
Brat

Lesli's first German brautwurst
MarktMarkt
Markt

They actually sell stuff here...besides food and beer haha.
We Made It!We Made It!
We Made It!

It was really hard, i know...
Doener!Doener!
Doener!

Best late night treat in Germany!
RathausRathaus
Rathaus

All of us at the Rathaus (city hall) in Hamburg
Saying Goodbye...Saying Goodbye...
Saying Goodbye...

Sad goodbyes at the train station!


10th November 2007

Thanks for the great time!
We had such a fun time with you in Hamburg! I do wish I could have met your mother but I know we will meet another time. You are in a fasinating part of the world and I would go back in a heartbeat! We have some really good pictures, too. Take care!
18th December 2007

Ohhh another travelblogger from Hamburg!!! :-) Welcome! :-)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb