Bowling Together


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
March 23rd 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To counteract the decline of bowling leagues in America, I assembled my closest friends here in Berlin to celebrate my 32nd birthday, Jersey style. So on Easter Sunday in the midst of blustery snow, we hit the lanes. As American consumerism has infiltrated Germany reportedly over just the past 10 years, more and more shops and entertainment spots remain open on the resurrection. I'm sort of OK with that. It subtracts from the fine balance of work and play the Germans have, but provides family, or friends, with a secular bonding experience.


In any case, bumpin' into the neon joint with bad 90's music blaring, I felt like I was 12--and it was great. Of course, we actually had to find a ball intended for a pre-pubescent so I could lift it. Even with my newfound strength (which made bowling surprisingly enjoyable for the first time ever) - I had to be careful. I thought color would matter more than size, but not so much. A brazened red would have to do. Size 7, if that means anything to anyone.


I did hold my own, and even got a strike! Which was followed by a round of
Germany is styleGermany is styleGermany is style

not quite the Brach's selection
high-10’s -- what a glorious moment! Sparkling disbelief in my teammates’ eyes. It must have been those spunky German strumpfhosen I was donning…I’ve been waiting my entire life for those.


We celebrated with edamame, the equivalent of ChexMix and some cake and fancy chocolates I had bought (you know, in Germany it is the birthday boy or girl who is responsible for providing the fun and food...and liquor).


In attendance were...friends...where do these friends come from in 3 weeks' time? Well, two I imported, and the others are borrowed ones from my Brooklyn gal, Kate...thanks Kate! These new friends are really taking care of me - and are the source behind many tales and photos and inspirations to come...


My Easter/Birthday morning had a festive start as well...greeted with chocolate, rolls, and a real-live birthday cake with candles! When else do you have the excuse to feast on such delicacies at 9 in the morning? I got sung to in German, and English. I'm taking all the love I can get! Sigrun made my morning quite special - and all the Easter Bunny magic helped a ton!


I also felt rather fortunate
exquisite midgetsexquisite midgetsexquisite midgets

though 1x1 inches, each of these little suckers is enough to give you a canker sore. i had a hard time selecting between the art and flavors each had to offer...
to be a smiling observer in some German Easter traditions as well...some of them not so different: egg-painting, egg and chocolate hunting (the Easter Bunny came while the boys were out getting the morning rolls), and well...


...something quite special for me this year --- as the German Easter Bunny (called the Osterhase) came in the form of an Italian Stallion (called Angelo). It was my first stint as Berliner tour guide -- and in exchange for my local smarts, I got rich conversation, stimulating chocolate and well, compassion and support. The world sure is small. But especially Europe.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

eggs in a basket...eggs in a basket...
eggs in a basket...

the German way
Berlin meet ParisBerlin meet Paris
Berlin meet Paris

this is just a thumbnail of the exhibition in the main department store of Berlin...it was called "Art of Chocolate" - but was rather racy all around...i've spared you the bunnytails...
"Egg" hunt..."Egg" hunt...
"Egg" hunt...

Hendrik, almost 3, has in his excitement at one chocolate chic completely bypassed the other waiting on the shelf above...the Osterhase was generous, and color-coded the larger items so the boys had equal portions...
Look Ma, no hands!Look Ma, no hands!
Look Ma, no hands!

all those hours in the bowling alley nursery musta done somethin'... and yes, Rayray, bowling alleys do look just like the ones in the USA...


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb