All good things must come to and end.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
October 1st 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One Last Time!!!!!One Last Time!!!!!One Last Time!!!!!

Our Group "Moose" at our last dinner. Berlin Germany 30/9/06
BERLIN-GERMANY 1/10/06


30/9/06


Last day on Rica today. : (

A few feeling a bit worse for wear from the night before, the sunnies were out in force.

So with no one to talk to up the back… I made the most of it, up the front of the bus, enjoying the view. The drive to the German border was very pretty through little towns and forested areas.

Once a few more of the girls woke up, and after a delay from some road works, we decided to see how many European truckies we could make crack a smile in the queue of traffic that we passed on the other side of the road. So imagine if you will, a bunch of girls sitting up the front of a tourist bus, grinning like idiots, waving madly at all the truckies stuck in the traffic jam. I’m very pleased to report I recon we got a wave from at least 50% and a smile from at least 75%. Does life get any better than this?


Arriving back in Berlin. 9420km traveled in 36 days. Leaving Rica for the last time. (I’m amazed at
The Last Night!The Last Night!The Last Night!

My Girls. Berlin Germany 30/9/06
the way all my stuff has seemed to double in size! How am I ever going to get it back to London?)

Our last supper was nice, quieter than expected, as not many of us got much sleep last night. And with the goodbyes looming, everyone was a bit quieter than usual.

I dread goodbyes. I find them really hard and if at all possible I prefer to just say “see you later” and even knowing that I was going to see most of these guys again at our reunion in November it was still tough.

Our final goodbyes at breakfast the following morning, and in my defense I hadn’t even had a cup of coffee, the waterworks started. Which I hate, since with my bloody fair complexion goes a lovely splotchy red when I cry.

I’m missing people more than I thought I would which I suppose is just a measure of how great these people are.

These last few days have been extremely hard. Saying goodbye was really difficult. It really knocked me for six, which was something I wasn’t expecting. It’s a bit of a shock to the system that I’m perhaps not as tough as I thought I was. The thought that I’m not going to be able to see these guys everyday, after spending the past 5 weeks with them makes me still feel a bit tearing (yes I’m such a girl!) .


To the friends I’ve made, words can’t express properly, my thanks for making this such a memorable experience. I hope you all keep exploring and wish you all the best.

If your ever in Terrigal let me know! I’ll shout you a drink. Shelle


Advertisement



9th October 2006

Rock on Shelle!
We love you too babe!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb