I didn't really feel like blogging today because of the French kids who stole my charger and went through my stuff, but I figured that it can help me to get my mind off of it.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 28th 2015
Published: June 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post


Monday, June 22, 2015

It was raining fairly heavily for a majority of the day, and I wanted to do something so I just walked around. I walked to the Tiergartens and saw and Sinti and Roma memorial. It was... I can't really describe how I felt. Maybe mournful, but that can't exactly describe it fully. I saw an accident with a police car and a taxi driver and that was pretty scary. I've never heard one before, but I won't forget it. Luckily people helped them get out of the car as soon as possible, which was nice. I was too far away to be an immediate helper.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

I did a lot today even though I woke up late and it was still raining. I visited checkpoint Charlie and the black box, which the black box has a 270° panorama in it showing what it was like to be living while the Wall was still up. It was really cool, and the sounds they played were from speeches and other audio clips from soldiers, etc. They even had markers and had places to write your response to the question: "What does freedom mean to you?" I've never seen anyone encourage people to draw on walls, floors, and blank posters, but it was interesting, and reminded me of the graffiti on the Berlin Wall.
Later, I went to my appointment at the Reichstag, and that wasn't what I expected. I didn't know it, but to go inside I have to make a private tour group with 6-8 weeks advance to get in. There, we get to go inside and sit down as well as learn more and ask questions about it. All I got was an audio tour of the top of the building. But I'll be back!
Then, I went to the Berlin Zoo! I took so many photos that managed to fill up my phone! I never had it happen to me before. I was both happy and sad that it happened, because on one hand, I had a lot of photos and content to post/show. On the other hand, I was full so I couldn't take any more photos. That was challenging because I had to balance between taking enough photos to get a majority of the animals, and not running out of space. All of this while it was still raining.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb