Glad I made it to Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi there all,

Have just about finished my time in Berlin. Summer has come back again so have been enjoying beautiful fine days over here. Am very very glad that I made it over to Berlin. The history of the city is incredible and it is recent history aswell, things that I can relate to, even the bad 80's haircuts etc in the pictures of when the wall came down.

Yesterday I had been told by a number of people to go on the free, yes free, walking tour of the city. They are run by foreign people who enjoy the city and know all about it. I was not disappointed. Sara our guide was great, she was very entertaining and she knew what she was talking about. We saw all of the sights that were around the central city and crossed between the old east and west a number of times. But the thing that stands out about the city is that you can not tell the difference, the whole cit is under construction and there are many new buildings around. There is a line of paving stones going around the city where the wall used to be but apart from that and a couple of places where the wall is still standing you would hardly know it used to be there.

After the walking tour i went to one of the museums that had Greek and Babalonyan ruins in it. And sat on the grass for a while enjoying the sunshine, by the sounds of it i had better enjoy it over here as there is not a lot of warmth back home! In the evening I went to the Reichstag, which is the parliament buildings here, on top they have built a huge glass dome that people can walk up, again for free. I walked to the top at the same time as the sun was setting so a beautiful site over the city. Also walked around the city at night with one of the girls i was sharing the hostel room with. Not many people around, but nice to see the city at night. So much walking done yesterday. All of that done with a sore ankle, yes ankle giving me grief again, has lasted 10 weeks and now deciding to play up. Still not letting it hold me back.

Today went back to the site of Checkpoint Charlie and read the information on the street and went into the museum. Saw some very interesting escape techniques, like inbetween 2 surf boards. Was quite crowded with many school groups AHHHHH school groups, who would be in charge of those!!! But interesting all the same. Also went to the Eastside Gallery which is the longest part of the Brlin Wall still standing, much art on it. Would have been quite daunting i would imagine having to stay on one side of it.

So that has been two days of flat out walking and site seeing, could have spent so much more time here, but I think that I have seen most of it.

Jumping back in time now to Sunday. Went out for lunch with Tatjana, was great to catch up with her and see her again. Following that went to Starlight Express the musical. It was interesting to watch as all the actors were on roller skates. Did manage to follow the general story line even in German. So was an enjoyable night. Jumping back again, went to a huge park in Dortmund on Saturday. Again was a beautiful day so decided to make the most of it. sat in the park for most of the afternoon.


Am catching an early bus back to Dortmund tomorrow. Am glad that I had the two days here as one would not have even come close to covering what i would like to see. Had to admit for the first time yesterday that I am actually tired. Getting a lot harder to wake up in the mornings. I guess it has been full on, glad I have the two weeks back at home before I start back with the children again, time to ease myself back into it.

Have to say that I could not have squeezed another thing in if i tried so that is a sign of a successful holiday. I look forward to sharing even more with you all when I get back home.

So bye for now. Hope you are all well back over there.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb