The holiday within the holiday


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dortmund
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Have spent the past week in Germany relaxing. Making that the holiday within the holiday. Have walked around Dortmund and looked at some of the shops and coffee shops etc. Have spent time on-line chatting to people and catching up on some e-mails. Have been reading a book and sleeping in. So basically what normal people do when they are on holiday. But had enough of that now. Too much time sitting still means too much time thinking of all the things that I have to do when I get home. Plenty of time to worry about that when I actually get there, which is now only just over 2 weeks away.

So the plans which we went and organised today are for me to continue travelling by myself, which I am getting rather good ar, are these. On Sunday Tatjana (other German flatmate from beginning of year) is coming to visit and then at night Chi Hang and I are going to the musical Starlight Express. Of course it will be in german, but I see it as being similar to going to the opera where you have no idea what they are saying but enjoy the show anyway!

Then on Monday I am going over to Berlin and am spending 3 nights there, really only 2 days but long enough to look around and see the sights. Would have been disappointed if I made it this far without getting there. Then I come back to Dortmund for 2 nights and catch an early train to Amsterdam. Amersfoort is on the way so I can stop there for a while and find the grave of my Grandfather's uncle. Have found a website that shows this and exactly where it is so it shouldn't take too ling to find. Then since I am over that way I will spend a night in Amsterdam and see some of the things that I didn't have time to see when we were there as some things were closed on certain days.

Following that busy week I'm off to London again before going to Hong Kong then home. Put like that there is not a lot of time left, but I have squeezed lots into it. I figure I have spent a lot of money to get over here I might as well see as much as I can. This past week has been a good chance to catch up on sleep so should be ready to go again.

Thinking more and more about coming home, getting as excited about that as I was about coming over. Has been amazing, I know that I keep saying that but it has been. I don't think that there are many people who have covered as many kms in such a short period of time as what I have done on this trip.

Anyway best go as I am actually cooking a meal tonight, funny how small things are taken for granted.

Bye for now, hope you are all well.

ps. discovered a message that may not have been published on line, it was the one with a picture of the sun set over the boat in Athens. Should bet there now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb