This is nothing like the trains at home


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
September 26th 2013
Published: October 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Finally the day had come that I had the opportunity to travel outside of England. I was going to meet my Dad in Berlin, Germany but it did not help the fact that I was going to do my first big travel all by myself. All my other trips have been sponsored by the school so I did not have to do much research. I had worked for multiple hours on finding cheap trains and flights that would have enough time between it all. Now my planning skills were going to be tested.

Sitting through my two classes on Thursday had to bring the most anticipation for the trip. I received an email earlier from my Dad claiming that the Eagle had landed in Berlin. I was ready to see my Dad after a month apart. I finally was dismissed at my class at 12:30 to run to the other side of the manor to meet my taxi at 12:35. Thankfully the taxi driver was right on time! I was headed to a train station in town to take me to London. The only time I have ever used the train system was the amtrak trip to Chicago. This train station was nothing like home but exactly what you would picture in the movies.

After an hour train to London my Underground Railway skills were the next to be tested. I hopped onto the circle line right before the door closed to realize I was on the wrong one. Thankfully I was able to get off at the next stop run up and then back down a few stairs to get back on the underground in the right direction this time. Thankfully the ride would only take 15min and I have 30min to make it to my next train.

This train would take me right to the Gatwick airport but finding the right platform proved to be a little tricky. But once I found it I was able to sit and relax for a 30min ride to my flight.

Of course I learned from my Dad and numerous study abroad meeting that you should always be 2 hours early to flights in order to go through security. Of course this was not the case. Security took about 5min for me to pass through. One of the easiest processes in the airport. I then had 2 hours to spare and explore the airport before my gates opened for boarding.

Once I finally boarded the flight and ready for take off at 6:30, I was finally able to take a breathe and realize I made it. It was not until the pilot hit the buckle seat belt sign for the landing that the emotions it. I was in Berlin about to see my Dad after my 8hour day of international travel all on my own.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb