Berlin - Take One


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 28th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Not that I am back in the States I'd to update my travel blog with the cities I visited during the last week of my stay in Europe. I will start with our trip to Berlin. I hadn't thought much about spending time in Berlin because I was thinking of it more as just the destination of the airport where we would take our flight to Italy. I was pleasantly suprised that we had time to explore the city. My first delight as we were driving into the city looking for our hotel was that I got the see "The Berlin Wall". The barrier included guard towers placed along large concrete walls and today just several sections of the wall remain and are decorated with colorful murals. Due to traffic we did not stop but I got some pictures from the car. Then on to downtown where we stayed in "the coolest hotel ever". This of course is based on the fact that my favorite color is fuschia and I love all things sparkly and the hotel decor was based on a fuschia and contemporary silver accents! Yes, I admit, in relation to the signifigance of all things historical in Berlin, the number of pictures of the hotel are manybe a bit out of proportion but needless to say, it was a highlight for me! For any other pink and sparkle lovers who may be considering a visit to Berlin, the hotel is Hotel Gendarm Nouveau.

After my hotel room photo session, we walked through the city center area and I was quickly reminded of much of the history of Berlin that I learned way back in junior high. I must have stored it away in a remote spot in my brain but being there, parts of it started to come back and Ralf filled in the blanks. Once again, it has inspired my to take a trip to the library and read more about some of these amazing places I had the opportunity to see. Just a few of them were Konzerhaus, a renowned performance center re-opened in 1984 decades after being damaged by air attacks during World War II, the Victory Column, built in 1873 to celebrate Prussia's victory in the Franco-German War, and The Brandenburg Gate a former city gate and one of the most well-known landmarks of Berlin. There were many more and when I tag my pictures I will try to label them accordingly. We enjoyed a lovely dinner with another friend of Ralf's who he studied with at the University. Then back to my pink and silver sparkly bed for a good night sleep before a morning flight to the much anticipated Venice!



Venice and Verona Blogs tomorrow...stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Hotel Gerdarm NouveauThe Hotel Gerdarm Nouveau
The Hotel Gerdarm Nouveau

Notice the pink sparkle globe lights over the bed!
The Hotel Gerdarm NouveauThe Hotel Gerdarm Nouveau
The Hotel Gerdarm Nouveau

Cool sliding mirror door hiding the bathroom!
German DomeGerman Dome
German Dome

Interior


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb