Leaving Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
October 10th 2011
Published: October 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I only have 8 hours or so left in Berlin... hopefully at least 6 of those will be sleep tonight!
Its 11.15pm and if I sleep within the next 3 hours it will be the earliest I have slept since arriving in Germany! It will be a stuggle getting up before lunch tomorrow... (6am... that hour exists??)

My goodness what a few weeks I have had.
On one hand, it has gone so quickly... its all a blur. On the other, South Africa seems so long and far ago! And I feel like there was never a gap where I wasnt living life with Jess!

I am sorry for my terrible commitment to this blog, but I thought I should write one before flying out to London tomorrow!

So Berlin has been amazing! My first two weeks were abnormally warm and I enjoyed the city in summer temperatures! Blue skys and green galore - beautiful.
I walked the streets and cruised the Spree River, as I learnt about this diverse and vibrant city.
It is full of life.. and bikes... and parties.. and DOGS (germans love their dogs) and weird rules... like you can have dogs basically anywhere, and alcohol LITERALLY anywhere.. both including trains... but I take one bite of food or rest my foot on a seat and a random german lady starts shouting at me!

Most people speak English (thank goodness) and no-one is really from Berlin. So international! And even the Germans who live here are from other parts of the country.
Lots of young people.

I was blessed to be part of Berlin Connect.. the new Hillsong plant.. and celebrated its second birthday this weekend with a worship night with the hillsong london team, lots of dancing in a club they hired out, and CAKE. yum yum.
God is doing awesome things through His church here.. and from the bits and pieces I have gathered, sounds like these past few years have been God stir up new things in His people here.. not just in this church, but in many other new churchs.

Its been so cool being part of the Irwin house hold. Anyone who knows this family, doesnt need me to tell you how awesome they are. Love them all.
Been going along to Sally's organisation events... which is also so encouraging.. as she raises money for the work in this city that ministers to trafficked woman in prostitution and works to end human trafficking.

Also was lucky to get a ticket to an Oktoberfest event... not in Munich no, but in Berlin. And I dont care what the Munich-ers say.. it was SUCH fun. BEER BEER BEER. lots of jolly germans singing their songs... the seats were apparanlty not for sitting but for standing on.. the tables too.
Such a great atmosphere. And fun to dress in german atire! Yay Dirndls!

What else? The history of this city is everywhere.. and its been cool to soak some of that in. The transport is great. The clubbing is FUNNN.. good stuff. The architecture is amazing! I didnt think I'd find that as interesting as it appears I have. The shopping is also great.. didnt get much time in Markets...
food = YUMMY.

Everything is happening in Berlin (except sleep).

Bring on London

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb