Unification day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
October 4th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Went out to Charlottenberg yesterday and walked around the palace for 2 1/2 hours. It's very beautiful, but after a while I wanted to leave and couldn't find the exit from the garden in the back. It's like a mini park. Went back to the hostle to get some food, then there were a bunch of us that were going to go out.
4 Quebeckers, 3 Italian girls, myself, and 2 Spanish girls all pre-funk at the hostle then go out to this "bar" that is an old building that people are squatting in for the beginning of the night. The only thing that was wierd about this whole experience was they were playing American pop music at this place. Picture if you will, hella old German building, probably a factory or something, with all these grunge artists, whom border upon punk, listening to Madona. Very weird. It was amazing though, because apparently these places are very popular in Europe. They are everywhere, and tuns of people go to them. I got some artwork that these people were talking about, in a book they were handing out.
Then the Italian girls were going to go to a different club, and I decided to hang with them because the Quebeckers were super drunk, really loud, and the Italian girls were my age where as the Quebeckers are 19. No thank you. So the 4 of us went to this other place that was huge. It is an old abandoned warehouse that people put multiple dance floors into, and a weak bar. Now it wasn't converted like what you get in the states. The entire inside of this place was exactly what you would expect from an old ass warehouse. All the people did was install speakers, lighting, seats, and a bar. The toilets at these places you don't even want to know. Really, just don't ask, because you probably don't want to know. Anyhoo, I convinced a couple of the Italian girls that they should go to Burning man and Earth dance if they like these sort of places. So there's a good chance that I will be driving with them into North of Italy with them and staying at their places for a couple of days while they show me around. They all live near Lake Como, and the other lake that starts with a G. Nothing is for sure yet, but the prospects are looking good. While I will do my best to hook them up with the people I know who go to Earth dance, and Burning man. I think it's a good trade.
Yeah. Another thing strange around here is the bars and clubs go all night. I think we left around 6:15AM or so, and this place wasn't slowing down at all. Then I forgot that the kitchen at the hostle doesn't open until 8AM so I took a small nap out on the couch, not to wake up my roommates by coming in then leaving again, and got up an hour and a half later to make myself some breakfast. Much needed. Now I'm writing. I think I am going to go to the north part of Berlin today, or go to the German Historical Museum, as well as the Pergamon museum which I didn't get to. It all sounds like a good idea, but we'll see what actually gets done.
One thing that I am sad to have missed, was/is the Dolls. I'm not one for Dolls, but yesterday and the day before there were these huge marrionettes that were telling stories about the unification of germany. One of the dolls was on a boat and came out of the water. I saw it on this guys phone. He was showing his girlfriend on the U-bahn and I was sort of looking over my shoulder to see what these dolls looked like. I had herd, but not seen. The other one was these two guys that were near the Brandenburg Gate. I hear that there is supposed to be another one somewhere within the city, but no one knows for sure where or at what time. Usually these things just pop out. I don't know if there is actually a place to find out more information regarding these Dolls. Sure there is. Has to be.
Yeah, good times.
Not much else to say.
Have a good day.

-Kati

Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb